Deep-Fried Legends of the Fair: Oreos, Krispy Kreme Burger (with video)

Gentle Readers, the people have spoken. Okay, a few people have spoken, and other people double-dog dared. Today’s dinner adventure at the N.C. State Fair was . . . Deep-Fried Oreos, Krispy Kreme Cheeseburger, and Corn, in that order.

Deep Fried Oreos!

Deep Fried Oreos!

We got them here (on recommendation). Demand them Hot Now, they are infinitely better!

TPC's Deep-Fried Oreo Stand of Choice!

TPC's Deep-Fried Oreo Stand of Choice!

But the true legend has to be the Krispy Kreme Cheeseburger. I admit, I wasn’t up for the challenge yesterday, but hoping for deep-fried culinary diplomatic immunity, I went for it.

Krispy Kreme Cheeseburger: I can't believe I ate that.

Krispy Kreme Cheeseburger: I can't believe I ate that.

This rendition was pretty simple, no toppings at all. I tried it plain, and with ketchup and mustard. All in all, the doughnuts were fresh and tasty, and somewhat overwhelmed the burger. I think it would be better with sausage and cheese, a sort of breakfast hybrid. The problem is the aftermath: sugar crash. I am still somewhat hungry, but with that mildly achy post-Lucky Charms thing going on. Probably wouldn’t eat it again under non-dare circumstances. Would rather just eat a Krispy Kreme right off the conveyor belt.

My Fair Vegetable

My Fair Vegetable

Without further delay, let’s watch the eating of the fried on video, as promised:

Special thanks to @convertiblelife and @pwsoneil for the deep-fried assist, and @charityjen for the Oreo guidance. Have you tried either of the Legends of the Fair? Comment below, or Tweet #ncstatefair !

What else should I try? Email me at practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, we take a Deep-Fried break to discuss Weekly Menus! (Yes, I do cook sometimes.)

3 Comments

Filed under Fried

3 responses to “Deep-Fried Legends of the Fair: Oreos, Krispy Kreme Burger (with video)

  1. Hey, it’s Alyssa from WPTF News – we met at the media luncheon last week. I’m going to be doing a food video for my (lame) blog at the fair tomorrow afternoon. Are you going to be around? We should meet up! I’d be glad to help you on your mission of tasting everything 🙂

    • The Practical Cook

      Hi Alyssa! Would love to catch up–I’m going in the morning, plan to depart early afternoon. Would love to catch up, what time are you planning to be there? (And how do you feel about fried cheese. :))

      DM me on Twitter tomorrow when you arrive! @practicalcook

Leave a comment