Pumpkin Pumpkin Everywhere, Not a Drop to Drink: Round 1

Gentle Readers, it seemed like such a simple mission at the start, trying all of the pumpkin things at Trader Joe’s. I gleefully tossed them in my cart with the joy of a completist blog in my future. It looked like this:

Back when I thought it was all about the Pumpkin Pancakes and a fun challenge. Trader Joe's Round 1.

Back when I thought it was all about the Pumpkin Pancakes and a fun challenge. Trader Joe’s Round 1.

Then I went back to the store the next week. And the pumpkin offerings expanded. Now my cart looked like this:

Pumpkin soup, oatmeal, ravioli--wait, how did the Joe Joe's get in there.

Pumpkin soup, oatmeal, ravioli–wait, how did the Joe Joe’s get in there.

Is it possible to suffer from Vitamin A poisoning? Or is this a Michael Pollan level conspiracy, as wonderfully outlined in The Pumpkin Industrial Complex? I’ll wait for you to stop laughing.

Welcome to the N.C. State Fair Memory Lane, Large Pumpkin Edition

Welcome to the N.C. State Fair Memory Lane, Large Pumpkin Edition

So rather than everything, I’m going to start by reviewing a few of my favorite things.

3 Practical Pumpkin Things

1. Pumpkin Granola. I love this cereal. I would eat it regardless of season or the PIC (Pumpkin Industrial Complex). Crunchy, spicy, with a little bit of raisin sass, this is two spoons up.

Pumpkin granola cereal from Trader Joe's, in aggregate.

Pumpkin granola cereal from Trader Joe’s, in aggregate.

2. Pumpkin-Cranberry Scones. Of the mixes I’ve tried, this is one of my favorites. They are simple to make, with a pretty good texture, and a nice pumpkin-ness to them. The cranberries make a lovely addition as well.

Nice texture and warmth, this scone mix is pretty easy to work with.

Nice texture and warmth, this pumpkin scone mix is pretty easy to work with.

3. Pumpkin Crisps. If you’re a fan of the rosemary crisps, this is a run don’t walk situation. Fabulous with a touch of goat cheese or a schmear of pumpkin butter, these I would eat until I foundered. Not your mama’s cracker.

Pumpkin crisps atop, wait for it, pumpkin soup from Trader Joe's. TPC's Jr are pretty much over it.

Pumpkin crisps atop, wait for it, pumpkin soup from Trader Joe’s. TPC’s Jr are pretty much over it.

That’s it for round 1. I’ve got lots more to review, and will even reveal some of my less favorite options. But I will need help from you loyal readers. If you’d like to guest blog, email me. If you’d like to just drop a quick one-line review in the comments, go for it. If you want to get into a pumpkin pie eating contest, I’ll take you on there as well.

Adapatable Pumpkin Pancakes Stack, Birthday Style.

Adapatable Pumpkin Pancakes Stack, Birthday Style.

Send your non-pumpkin items, good ideas, and mind-blowing suggestions to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Next up on Sunday, Weekly Menus: State Fair Edition

5 Comments

Filed under One Ingredient Three Ways, Snacks

5 responses to “Pumpkin Pumpkin Everywhere, Not a Drop to Drink: Round 1

  1. Joan

    I’ve tried “This Pumpkin Walks Into a Bar” cereal bars. They are tasty with good chewy mouth feel, but pretty standard for a cereal bar. I read the suggestion to heat it a little and top with vanilla ice cream, which sounds like a fabulous idea. (Trying to cut back on the calories at the moment, which is the only reason I haven’t tried that.) It would be a good pairing.
    In other news, every time I type pumpkin, I always type “pumpking” and have to delete the g. Perhaps a new subliminal marketing ploy by the PIC.

  2. Joan

    Oh, also have Halloween Jo Jo’s. The vibrant orange filling puts me off somehow but I’m quite sure I’ll press on and finish the box for the novelty factor. And buy them again next year for the same reason. (The chocolate covered pepperming winter/Christmas Jo-Jo’s…those are divine…)

    • The Practical Cook

      We are enjoying the Halloween Joe Joe’s as well–a bit of non-pumpkin respite in the PIC world. I think the typo indicates a beer preference! I like the Pumpkin bars okay myself, more than a typical cereal bar and less than the 5 seed granolas that have my heart.

  3. You are one brave lady, committing to buying all the pumpkin stuff at TJ’s…thanks so much for linking to my piece and doing your part to ingest the Pumpkin Biomass. As for me, I eat those pumpkin crisps spread with a little goat cheese – bliss.

    • The Practical Cook

      If you replace “brave” with “lost her fool mind” I think you’re on to something. 😉

      Your piece was fantastic and timely, putting context to the insanity that once belonged firmly in a pie pan and on the shelves of Starbucks. For the record–I will not assist the ingestion efforts with any drinkable pumpkin items. Soup is excluded because I prefer to use a spoon on mine.

      Ah yes, those pumpkin crisps still have me in the cross-hairs of the PIC. I look forward to more insightful writing from you, as your blog name is made of awesome and sunshine.

Leave a Reply

