Weekly Menus: Week of 8/18/2013

Gentle Readers, this August is far more marathon than sprint. I will spend more time in restaurants and other people’s kitchens than my own. That is the challenge and the beauty of life. I’m learning quickly that buying less is more, and now is the time to rely on the war chest that is actually my freezer and pantry. Depression era thinking has never been a more useful skill.

Frozen pizza options.

Frozen pizza options.

Once more on the road, we are celebrating with NYC friends this week. Obviously, I love to eat in this city. I love the street food, I love the random hole in the wall places, and I deeply love the latte from the barbershop in Williamsburg that I hope to revisit. But I digress.

Lamb gyro, extra hot sauce, from The Halal Guys!

Lamb gyro, extra hot sauce, from The Halal Guys!

This summer has been about community around the table–wherever that table may be. From my fellow CloudBunny who opened her home to us in New Orleans to the dynamo that is my Bestie Bride, food happens where it happens, and the people you are with are the most important part. Summer is a time to break from routine and live. We’ve done that.

One shot latte from The Parlor. It was dreamy.

One shot latte from The Parlor. It was dreamy.

Here’s what we’re eating this week:

Sunday: Malaysian food
If you haven’t tried this wing of Asian cuisine, get thee to the Google and find some near you. It’s a wonderful fusion of a lot of different cultures. Lucky us, this is the wedding dinner we’ll be attending. A blend of curry and spice without ridiculous heat, I’m a fan.

Malaysian dessert with a candle, complete with singing, from Laut in NYC.

Malaysian dessert with a candle, complete with singing, from Laut in NYC.

Monday: Street Food
I don’t know what it will be, perhaps Halal Cart or just a gyro, but I plan to enjoy it. A lot. I encourage you to go out and find what’s happening locally foodwise in the street. Some great ideas to be had, some great food to be eaten.

Street food in Barcelona: juice bar style.

Street food in Barcelona: juice bar style.

Tuesday: Salad and Pasta
Recovery food for us, we can always make something out of the pantry. It’s good to reset the palate back to normal after a lot of travel. I think this may just be a penne with red sauce night, side of Caesar salad.

Pasta with red sauce FTW!

Pasta with red sauce FTW!

Wednesday: Steak and Potatoes
It’s been too long since I went traditional. Let’s see what happens!

I am still missing this ribeye. Hello again.

I am still missing this ribeye. Hello again.

Thursday: Salmon and Green Beans, Bed of Couscous
As back to school looms near, so emerges my inner Betty Crocker.

Friday: Pizza!
Again, something we’ve not had a ton of, seems like a good time to start.

Smiling does not improve turkey bacon's taste. Just saying.

Smiling does not improve turkey bacon’s taste. Just saying.

Saturday: Dine Out!
Believe it or not, I’ll be in SF, and I think dinner should be about bacon.

Thanks for all of the suggestions you’ve sent my way. Keep it up! I am still seeking fabulous fried chicken and the very best in chocolate covered bacon. Game on!

Send bagels, egg and cheese on a roll, and Halal cart food to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Wednesday, Snack Wisdom: Travel Foods.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

