Weekly Menus: Week of 6/30/2013 Confession Edition

Gentle Readers, today’s post is about habits. For better or worse, we fall into them. Today, having gotten used to not blogging after a week’s hiatus, I almost forgot to post this. That’s how quickly a habit can change. Equally true are good habits. I never ran a step in my life that wasn’t required by a class or a rabid animal until I started attempting fitness a few years back.

My Third Race: 5k to Benefit Wounded Warrior Project!

My Third Race: 5k to Benefit Wounded Warrior Project!

Now I feel itchy if I don’t try to run. Slow as I may be, I’m still faster than the couch.

For my confession: I’ve fallen out of the habit of going to the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings. I miss it. I know there are ingredients waiting for me there. It’s easy to go into neutral and coast. I want to fight that. So I’m confessing here. Next week is another chaotic ride, but I’m going to do better.

Celebrate your independence from hothouse tomatoes! Bring on summer!

Celebrate your independence from hothouse tomatoes! Bring on summer!

It’s easy to survive on Peanut M and M’s, but I need more salad. It’s great to go out to eat and try new things, but I miss my kitchen. I think  it’s time to host a dinner party or a tea (or perhaps a lemonade and cookies function in honor of the heat). The Jrs and I can wear party dresses and I can remind myself why I love food.

My Life on the Road: Unicorns and Chocolate

My Life on the Road: Unicorns and Chocolate

So back to better habits, which can form as easily as the bad ones. Thanks to everyone for riding this ride with me. I appreciate your feedback and support. It makes all of this possible.

My dinner twice last week. Chicken and waffles!

My dinner twice last week. Chicken and waffles!

Without further adieu, this week’s menus are:

Weekly Menus: 6/30/2013

Weekly Menus: 6/30/2013

The Four-Square Grocery List is:

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 6/30/2013

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 6/30/2013

Which all translates to:

Sunday: BLT Salad
After being mocked for eating a low-bacon to lettuce ratio, I’m hitting the test kitchen for this one. Stand by.

Whole Foods Salad Bar, I love you.

Whole Foods Salad Bar, I love you.

Monday: Wings
I may make them, I will eat them. But I’m not going to skimp on the celery and the carrots. I crave food found in nature right now after weeks upon weeks of insanity.

Tuesday: Veggie Burgers
Tis the season for grilling out. I actually like these as well. I know it’s a bit of a cheat, but I’ll make the sides from scratch, and there will be fruit on the side.

Wednesday: Dine Out(side)!
We’ve got plans, and I look forward to them. More on this as they emerge. Team TPC is doing some exploring.

Thursday: Not Dogs
Can you tell I’m on a veggie kick? I was also challenged to find new ways to use TVP. I’m thinking about this, and it reminded me to make a batch of hot dog chili with the stuff. It’s a particularly Southern thing, more sauce that foodstuff, and perfect vegetarian junk food with slaw on a not dog.

The iconic hot dog who applies condiments to itself.

The iconic hot dog who applies condiments to itself.

Friday: Carbonara
We’ll have bacon in the house, and this meal is a great end to the week. Comforting, filling, and a reminder that we’re home.

Saturday: Dine Out!
We are hitting up a new country, let’s find out which one. I’m voting Korea.

Does summer change your habits for better or for worse? Confess here, I’m listening and probably guilty of the same. Post a comment below.

Send forgiveness, questions, and vine-ripened tomatoes to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, The Whole Food Salad Bar, A User’s Guide.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

