Jeepney Filipino Bistro: NYC in Review!

Gentle Readers, it really pays to pay attention. Lean in close, it’s time for a confession. Much like in magic tricks, it’s easy to be distracted when ordering in a new restaurant. For me, with my shellfish allergy, I often order “not shellfish” when trying a new place. Everything else falls to the side. And at Jeepney in New York, the service and atmosphere are so convivial, it’s easy to be swept along with the tide.

Thanks to @lynxbat for this before picture. Duck eggs, looking innocent. Balut @ Jeepney.

Thanks to @lynxbat for this before picture. Duck eggs, looking innocent. Balut @ Jeepney.

So I have to own this. I ordered a duck egg. I like duck, I like eggs. Great. It’s not shellfish. I ignored the key word, “fertilized.” Meet balut, a Filpino specialty, and a one of a kind experience. Not to say that Jeepney was fully defined by one thing, but eating a fertilized duck egg changes a person.

Special thanks to my friend and food challenger, @Lynxbat. Photo credit to him as well.

The whole patio stopped to watch. I have not yet realized what I've signed on for.

The whole patio stopped to watch. I have not yet realized what I’ve signed on for.

For the review of the overall meal, it was a great experience. We sat at communal tables on the patio in the back, and that alone was a great reminder of how food should be eaten–with other people and outside when possible. We ordered almost the entire menu, from lumpia (a personal addiction, if you are a fan of spring or egg rolls, imagine them smaller and crunchier) to beef marrow (luscious and umami on speed) to brilliant entrees.

Beef Marrow with Broth: The Flinstones would applaud.

Beef Marrow with Broth: The Flinstones would applaud.

I’ve eaten Filipino food before, but this was an experience. Much credit to the wait staff, who gave us the Big Night of the Philippines experience. By the time we were eating the balut, the entire restaurant was playing along. Every dish was well executed, and there’s not anything I wouldn’t recommend.

My dish was simply amazing--the broth was simple and complex, and each bite was unique.

My dish was simply amazing–the broth was simple and complex, and each bite was unique.

The bigger picture remains, if you go to try a new cuisine, dive in. Jeepney makes it accessible. There are fusion dishes that feel familiar (garlic rice or curried pork chop), along with the adventure items. Everything, right down to the HaloHalo inspired ice cream (beware of the gummi items if you’re not a fan), is both familiar and challenging if you’ve not eaten the cuisine.

The atmosphere of Jeepney reminds you why it's great to eat out and experience new things!

The atmosphere of Jeepney reminds you why it’s great to eat out and experience new things!

That may have been my first and last balut (true confession, I lost my nerve after 3 bites and the dawning realization of what I had ordered), but it’s not my last trip to Jeepney. Highly recommended, plenty of well executed options (shellfish free even!). Go, and take a spirit of adventure with you.

If Anthony Bordain recommends it, it has to be good, right?

If Anthony Bordain recommends it, it has to be good, right?

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten? Post a comment below,  or Tweet my way!

Send duck eggs, better listening skills, and general challenges to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up on Sunday, Weekly Menus, Travel Edition!

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

