Reader Questions and Feedback: Angry Vegans, Punked by a Reader, and More!

Gentle Readers, the questions just keep getting more interesting. First, I’ll address the most common question I get.

The Remains of the Day: Dessert Graveyard

The Remains of the Day: Dessert Graveyard

1. How do you eat all of that food and not die/have diabetes/weigh x pounds?

I do not consume every bite of every piece of food I photograph. This applies to whole cakes especially. Sometimes the people I’m eating with have prettier plates, or I spot something cool. I do my best to indicate whether I made it, ate it, or just admired it.

Pickled Beets, Walnuts, Sartori Cheese and Herb Salad Mix. Divine.

Pickled Beets, Walnuts, Sartori Cheese and Herb Salad Mix. Divine.

Also, I realize that I don’t photograph the endless amount of salad/oatmeal/carrot sticks that I eat, because it’s not as interesting. Perhaps I’ll do a blog dedicated to the oatmeals I’ve loved while on business trips.

Steel-Cut Oatmeal in a Bathtub-Sized Bowl

Steel-Cut Oatmeal in a Bathtub-Sized Bowl

However, in the interest of full disclosure, I eat a whole lot of healthy food in between bacon benders. I encourage people to make good food choices based on their particular dietary needs, and to strive to enjoy what they eat and to try new things. As long as they aren’t full of hazelnuts. I can’t advocate for that.

2. Punked by a reader.

My favorite photo received after tweeting about making corned beef hash comes from vTeen. Yes, you have all of the ingredients (double points for the Easter eggs), go forth and fire up your Easy Bake Oven.

Corned beef hash ingredients. Well played.

Corned beef hash ingredients. Well played.

3. “Want to go to dinner with us?” “Sure, I’m a vegan.” “We’re going to a BBQ place.” “I’ll make it work.”

The Smoking Pig: Someone please start a band called Angry Vegans and use this as the cover.

The Smoking Pig: Someone please start a band called Angry Vegans and use this as the cover.

It’s now a running joke that I won’t go try any restaurant without an Angry Vegan in the car with me. Courtesy of my amazing photographer friend Ashley, I got to eat real BBQ in San Jose, CA, on a recent business trip, and as happens at business conferences, we invited people along. Full review on the food later, major props to my new vegan friend for not only making it work but making it hilarious.

Chicken Lollipop from the Smoking Pig in San Jose.

Chicken Lollipop from the Smoking Pig in San Jose.

Moral of this story: nothing is impossible. Good BBQ exists everywhere if you look, and vegans are people too. Only snarkier.

Send me your questions. All material considered. Post a comment below, or Tweet my way.

Send your questions, snark, and good ideas to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Friday, Waffle Substitution, Cereal to the Rescue!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy

Leave a Reply

