Weekly Menus: Travel Edition, Week of 2/24/2013

Gentle Readers, sometimes it is time to throw in the towel. Such is the case with today’s weekly menu post and format. For one, late last week, the Practical Cooks Junior undeclared themselves vegetarians. It was bacon that did it. They are my offspring after all.

The bacon that broke the vegetarian streak.

The bacon that broke the vegetarian streak.

We had a good discussion about eating as low and humanely on the food chain as we could as omnivores. You’ll still see plenty of meatlessness around here, but I will be able to use up the CSA pork warehouse that is my freezer.

Plus, I’m traveling again, and TPC’s Mom will be at the helm. I have found that she listens to me and my meal plans precisely as often as I listened to her tell me to get off the phone as a teen. Read: Never. Therefore, I violated yet one more rule and shopped without a list. Here’s everything I bought in preparation for next week:

My grocery list, in picture form.

My grocery list, in picture form.

Once you’ve broken a rule, make it worth your time. I look forward to hearing what is on the menu for next week. I’m sure it will be delicious. Clearly I’m Southern, I bought the “snow and ice trinity”–that’s milk, bread, and eggs for those who don’t know–and I’m my mother’s daughter, because there’s something green.

Simple yet delicious, The Practical Cook's House Salad.

Simple yet delicious, The Practical Cook’s House Salad.

Don’t feel too bad for the home team, my pantry and freezer stay stocked with enough food to feed a football team for a week. It is how I was raised. For fun, here’s a list of all the things I could make with the above items, without even hitting the pantry:

  • French toast
  • Egg and cheese sandwiches
  • Cheese toast
  • Fruit salad
  • Green salad with fruit
  • Fruit and cheese plate
Hot buttery cast iron skillet is key to great French Toast!

Hot buttery cast iron skillet is key to great French Toast!

What’s on your meal plan this week? Post a comment in the box below, just to see if it’s still working. 🙂

Send your kitchen panics, questions, and well wishes to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today! Also, follow the food pictures on Instagram @amylewi.)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Wednesday: Fried Chicken and Waffles vs Sriracha Potato Chips, On Video!

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

