Christmas Cookie Countdown

Gentle Readers, one of the very best things about celebrating Christmas is the ridiculous amount of cookies to be made, eaten, or even just admired. Fine, I’ll admit that’s my very specific point of view, but, lean in close so I can confess, I really really love cookies. For anyone who has traveled with me, you know that cookie breaks are often mandatory.

Stop. Cookie Time.

Stop. Cookie Time.

Chocolate chip is a classic, and I may very well dress it up with dried cherries this holiday season. Here’s a rough bet on what I’ll have in my cookie jar this holiday.

Christmas Cookie Wish List

1. Peanut Butter Cookies: These Cook’s Illustrated jewels take time and care, but are oh so worth it. The cross-hatching will be done by the Juniors. I cannot be alone with these cookies.

Cookies are a party, especially when there are options.

Cookies are a party, especially when there are options.

2. Date-Nut Cookies: A stovetop classic, I’ve modified this 1950s family staple so it no longer oozes butter. Not that I’m against oozing butter, but times have changed. Sticky melted dates bound with Rice Krispies, yes please. **I thought I had shared this recipe before, but apparently haven’t. Coming up Friday!**

3. Buttersotch Scotchies: These were such a Thanksgiving hit, they’re coming round again. I may add some orange-scented dried cranberries, just to keep it real.

Oatmeal Scotchies at Rest. Cool down, my pretties.

Oatmeal Scotchies at Rest. Cool down, my pretties.

4. Chocolate Chip Cookies: If I’m not exhausted from the above, I’ll soldier on to the classic. I want to try a new version this year.

This year's cookie trinity: Oatmeal chocolate chip, peanut butter, and date snowflakes.

This year’s cookie trinity: Oatmeal chocolate chip, peanut butter, and date snowflakes.

5. Sugar Cookies: Another family classic, I like that you can make a simple cookie shaped like anything. This is also a stretch goal, as I only have one stomach. **This recipe will also be coming up soon!**

To top it off, I’m making spiced nuts as giveaways this year. I love a little savory with my sweet. What’s in your cookie jar? Send me a link to your favorites in the comments section below or on the Twitters! Or even a picture, I’m hungry. 🙂

Send your cookie jars, festive containers, and great ideas to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Friday, Date-Nut Cookies Recipe!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Christmas Cookie Countdown

  1. Kelly

    Every year, I bake with these vintage cookbooks from the electric company. My family demands the peanut butter kisses, but I have to make toffee squares, and pecan fingers (shortbread rolled in powdered sugar). The best part is the cookie exchange with my friends. Make 6 dozen, take six different dozen. This year I wanted to do mint meringues, and stained glass windows, but I may do those in Feb for my valentines.

  2. Pingback: Accepting Defeat in the Kitchen | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

