Oatmeal Scotchies with Macadamia Nuts Recipe: Cookie Emergency!

Gentle Readers, this past Thanksgiving, I was asked to bring a dessert to the family meal. Pumpkin pie was covered. Chocolate was covered. Whipped cream covered most everything. What was missing?  Butterscotch.

Oatmeal Scotchies with Macadamia Nuts for the win!

Oatmeal Scotchies with Macadamia Nuts for the win!

So often butterscotch and caramel are distant thoughts on the dessert tray. And cookies at Thanksgiving, outrageous!  Team Practical Cook marches to their own beat, however, and we tend to heart butterscotch and caramel even more than chocolate. Oh I know, I said that out loud. Also, cookies: they are portable, crisp/chewy, and frankly perfect in every way.

Stop. Cookie Time.

Stop. Cookie Time.

I have none left. Which is good. Considering how many I tested for quality assurance.

Oatmeal Scotchies with Macadamia Nuts Recipe

I will openly admit I used the recipe from the back of the package, with a few amendments and additions. Here’s the Oatmeal Scotchies recipe from the people at Nestle. I swapped in 1/2 cup of lightly toasted macadamia nuts for the same amount of oatmeal. I used the vanilla instead of the orange peel. I cranked the cinnamon slightly. And I used salted butter and backed off the salt a bit (I like a saltier cookie, though, and think you could use salted butter and the full amount, maybe a scant 1/2 teaspoon, and be fine).

Oatmeal Scotchies at Rest. Cool down, my pretties.

Oatmeal Scotchies at Rest. Cool down, my pretties.

Tips:

Toast the chopped macadamia nuts in the microwave for a minute or so, watching carefully.

Refrigerate the cookie dough between batches.

Resist eating the cookies hot. I know, sacrilege, right? But I found these cookies are the rare exception that makes them an IDEAL holiday cookie. They taste better the next day. The butterscotch chips are not as flavorful in a melted state, and the macadamias were hard to detect.

Refrigerating between batches helps cookies stay fat.

Refrigerating between batches helps cookies stay fat.

I’ve already restocked on the butterscotch chips, and I plan to make them again soon. After all, with so much oatmeal, they’re practically as nutritious as some of the more scandalous cereals on the market.

Butterscotch vs Oatmeal? Where do you stand? Vote now by posting a comment below!

Send your butterscotch chips, hot tea, and extra sleep to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Friday, Polenta, Mexican Style!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Oatmeal Scotchies with Macadamia Nuts Recipe: Cookie Emergency!

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Countdown | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

