How Skim Is Your Milk?

Gentle Readers, what color is your milk bottle cap? For years I have been a skim milk person, though I’m not sure how I fell into the habit. Tall decaf nonfat latte is a matter of routine at this point. (Withhold any comments on the decaf part unless you want to take full responsibility for a caffeinated me.)

Cafe con leche: Breakfast of champions

Cafe con leche: Breakfast of champions

Then I saw an article much like this one, if not this one, about skim milk making people fat. As a rule, I am not a low-fat fan, and my Fried exploits are well-documented. I buy into the idea that fat is not the enemy, it makes you full.

Very respectable fried pickles to be found at Carolina Ale House.

Very respectable fried pickles to be found at Carolina Ale House.

With both of The Practical Cooks Junior declaring vegetarianism, more fat in the diet is not a bad thing. So I switched to 2%. Results have included much richer and more delicious faux bechamel sauces and a lack of obese children in my home.

Pasta two ways with a side of fruit.

Pasta two ways with a side of fruit.

Yes, moving from the light blue to the dark blue cap (and this is a big deal in Tarheel country) did not set the world aflame. I run. I workout. Eating all vegetables has frankly left me hungry on more than one occasion. I am happy for the extra fat myself.

Milk Bottles Old, New, and Buttermoo

Milk Bottles Old, New, and Buttermoo

Perhaps it was the lusciousness of the cafe con leches I consumed in Barcelona, but it was time. I think this change will stick. So what color is your milk bottle cap? Post a comment below, tweet my direction, or chat with your cow. I look forward to hearing from you!

Send your questions, queries, and quips to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Sunday, Weekly Menus, Gangnam Style.

2 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy

2 responses to “How Skim Is Your Milk?

  1. HR

    Devoted 2% consumer, but I think cooking with whole milk is pretty great

    • The Practical Cook

      Excellent point re different levels. I used to have whole milk in the house, but couldn’t go through it fast enough.

      More milkfat in food = delicious.

Leave a Reply

