Weekly Menus: Week of 5/20/2012

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook simply adores the internet. Where else can one go and find quality chicken and waffles suggestions with a simple question or two? Yes, it’s time to take the quest on the road again, I’m heading to Vegas for work, and conveniently pairing my love of chicken and waffles with my day job, which is getting people to eat chicken and waffles as an integrated stack. (Forgive the pun, for those of you who know “work me.”)

Fried chicken and waffles at Dame's. Wow.

Fried chicken and waffles at Dame’s. Wow.

But I digress, this is what the home team will be eating while I’m away. Thanks again to The Practical Cook’s Mom, who ran roughshod over my initial meal suggestions. And will bring an arsenal of ingredients no matter what. So here’s what may or  may not be eaten next week:

Weekly Menus: 5/20/2012

Weekly Menus: 5/20/2012

And the Four Square Grocery List:

The Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 5/20/2012

The Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 5/20/2012

The CSA will be delayed a week for simplicity’s sake.

Which all translates to:

Sunday: Pizza?
We’re hosting some Complicated Vegetarians, so the menu is TBD. Pizza is always a good choice in this situation, as is pasta bar.

Monday: Beans and Rice (Burritos) or Spinach Pie
There were some artistic differences here. I was suggesting one thing, TPC’s Mom will cook another. Do I really have anything to say about it? No. Will my kids pick her dish over mine? Every time.

Tuesday: Sammies
A plate of sammies cut into quarters is a great meal. Cut off the crusts and call it high tea.

Sandwiches, fruit, and brownies on a fancy tiered platter.

Sandwiches, fruit, and brownies on a fancy tiered platter.

Wednesday: Spaghetti and Salad
A meal of my youth, with meat sauce. Of course we typically had it with black-eyed peas or some other prominent Italian vegetable. (We were fusion before it was cool.)

Thursday: Sausage and Bok Choy or some green veg
The bok choy experiment may wait till my return. I’ve been working with recipes to improve bok choy consumption here at Chez Practical Cook. Next up, pork fat.

Friday: Leftover surprise!
Again, because my mom imports more food than most small countries, I feel certain there will be something of interest for me to create into something new. After a week of life in Sin City, with two dinners per day, I will need the detox challenge.

Saturday: Dine Out!
I plan to scope something new out with TPC’s Junior. We shall see if they are up to the adventure!

What’s your favorite chicken and waffles place? I’m gathering  a list for Las Vegas and for San Diego.  Post a comment below, or Tweet! And a special thanks to my mom, who I love to tease, but taught me everything important I needed to know.

Send your chicken and waffles to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, Bacon on the Hoof! Follow the Bacon Bacon Truck in SF, where even the vegetarian option has bacon on it.

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Menus

2 responses to “Weekly Menus: Week of 5/20/2012

  1. Laurie

    Las Vegas chicken and waffles – Hash House a GOGO. It’s a must.

Leave a Reply

