Eating My Way Through San Francisco: Reviews from the Road

Gentle Readers, my heart belongs to San Francisco. At least the food part. The biting wind I could well do without. This may be controversial, but I will take a stand here. Of great meals I’ve had in my life, more of them have been in San Francisco than anywhere else.

Salmon with Veggies (technically in Santa Clara, but still FTW!)

Salmon with Veggies (technically in Santa Clara, but still FTW!)

I know, New York is great, but the risk to reward ratio has been much better in the city by the bay. My favorite spot, my respite from the bustle of a conference floor, Samovar. The tea descriptions are fantastic, and the tea itself is not too shabby either.

Mmm, lingering artichoke tea.

Mmm, lingering artichoke tea.

The food is limited in choice, well done in execution, and the pairings are interesting and challenging. I tried the Jook this time, and fell in love. Yes, I will add some more Sriracha, thanks!

Jook with smoked duck from Samovar, San Francisco.

Jook with smoked duck from Samovar, San Francisco.

Also on tap, Thai food, recommended by a food fan to a food fan. Thankfully, I’m not the only one keeping a running list. Koh Samui was a delight, but be warned, their medium is Thai medium, not bland medium. I had the tofu curry with coconut rice, which was fabulous, but enjoyed the fusion samosas at the start even more.

Koh Samui is a refuge off the beaten bath. Well worth the trek for good Thai!

Koh Samui is a refuge off the beaten bath. Well worth the trek for good Thai!

Noveau Indian at Amber was very nice, my favorite being the Gobi, with recommendations of the “best Indian” being in Fremont, CA (home of Afghanan de Kebab). Rest assured, Gentle Readers, I will take the challenge and commit to the necessary field research on my next trip.

Spiked lemonade from Amber. Made with thyme and lemon infused simple syrup. Well done.

Spiked lemonade from Amber. Made with thyme and lemon infused simple syrup. Well done.

And as for bacon, there was bacon. You’ll have to wait till next week for that particular update, but a pilgrimage to the famed BaconBaconSF food truck was made.

Portobella Sandwich from Samovar

Portobella Sandwich from Samovar

But my favorite meal, the home-cooked one. Thank you. How awesome to be on the other side of the country, and yet get to share in the family meal. I learn something great in every kitchen, and this was no exception.You are welcome to come sit on my porch anytime.

Refuge on the Road: Samovar San Francisco

Refuge on the Road: Samovar San Francisco

As always, the importance of good company with good food is emphasized on the road. Good food becomes great when the conversation serves. Thank you to one and all.

Okay, gauntlet tossed. Where have you had more great meals, east or west coast? Go! (Post a comment below, let the games begin.)

Send your restaurant recommendations and food pictures to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Friday: Crostini with Broccolini, A Recipe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

