The Great Dishwasher Debate: To Rinse or Not to Rinse

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook does not shy away from the controversial debates of the kitchen. Unless they are with her mom, at which point she picks the fight while safely located 3000 miles away. Today’s topic: is it better to rinse the dishes before putting them in the dishwasher, or can you just stack ‘em and rack ‘em?

Pony Plates from Anthropologie: Perfectly clean after using my method of scrape not rinse.

Pony Plates from Anthropologie: Perfectly clean after using my method of scrape not rinse.

I stand firmly in the scrape but don’t rinse category, and here’s why:

1. Its called a dishwasher. If it’s not doing the job, I am, and I’m going to fire it.

My Less Cute, but Practical, Dishwasher

My Less Cute, but Practical, Dishwasher

2. The Practical Cooks Junior can scrape but not rinse. I am called the “practical” cook for a reason.

My Staff is only so tall!

My Staff is only so tall!

3. 90% + of the dishes come out clean every time. I’m willing to play those odds for saved labor.

4. Research indicates modern dishwashers do a better job if the dishes go in slightly dirty. Fine, it’s probably research by the Palmolive Corp, but I’m standing by it.

5. Saves time in answering “are these clean or not.”

Are these clean or dirty? Secret footage taken just before I exited, stage left even.

Are these clean or dirty? Secret footage taken just before I exited, stage left even.

So there you have it. The gauntlet is tossed. Are you a pre-cleaner or a let it fly sort of dishwasher? Post a comment below, let the games begin. (And here’s hoping TPC’s Mom doesn’t change the locks on my house before I get back.)

Remember, The Practical Cook accepts culinary challenges, send yours today to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Friday, The Week of Salads. (It’s not just food for rabbits.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Tool Talk

Leave a Reply

