Weekly Menus: Week of 4/29/2012

Gentle Readers, lean in close, it is confessional time for The Practical Cook. Sometimes, I am not my chirpy upbeat self. Sometimes, just like you, life kicks me in the teeth. This was one of those weeks. I caught both hooves square in the mouth. (Life is in fact a horse in this analogy, work with me.) So sitting down to plan a menu can be tough. I even, wait for it, lost my appetite last week.

Trust me, this is a rare occasion.

The kitchen brings me solace, but this week I don’t have a lot of time to chop and mince, relaxing activities for me, and even less time to truly create and execute. This will be one of those off weeks, where I slug it out because I must. Because tossing a simple salad is still easier than hauling the Jrs out to dinner multiple times. So do forgive my lack of chirp and chop, I think it will return soon.

Good news, I still found room for this awesome cake.

Good news, I still found room for this awesome cake.

And these faboo cupcakes.

And these faboo cupcakes.

I soldier on after two kids’ birthday parties and a smidge of dessert, and this week’s menus will be:

Weekly Menus: 4/29/2012

Weekly Menus: 4/29/2012

The Four-Square Grocery List is:

The Four-Square Grocery List: 4/29/2012

The Four-Square Grocery List: 4/29/2012

And the CSA from Brinkley Farms:

1 bundle cress

1 bundle spring onions

1 dz eggs

2 bundles small white hakurei turnips

Which translates into:

Sunday: Lasagna or Rotisserie Chicken
I have work to do, so how much time is leftover will drive the meal decision. Either way, I have plans for these meals . . .

Monday: Leftovers with salad and starch
If you’re unsure which way you’re going, plan the leftover meal to be flexible. Salad goes with everything, and the starch could be mac and cheese or garlic bread. I shall flex to the moment.

Tuesday: Dine Out!
I will be rolling with some bloggy moms. Love the restaurant we’re going to, let’s hear it for inspiration.

Wednesday: Breakfast for Dinner!
Bet the farm this will be pancakes, or grits, or both. And there will be bacon, lots and lots of bacon.  Comfort food I can crank out in my sleep.

Thursday: Chorizo Burrito
Because my chorizo is not long for the freezer, I’m thawing and eating it this week. Straight from last week’s Brinkley Farms CSA, it is so good with pinto beans in a burrito I could weep openly, and may. Okay, I do still love food, even in my teeth-kicked-in state.

Friday: Leftovers
I look forward to finding out what this becomes. Will it be nachos? Will it be tea and toast because everything was actually eaten?

Saturday: Dine Out!
Let the field research begin anew.

What do you turn to when you’re not feeling inspired in the kitchen (or anywhere else)? Where do you draw food inspiration? Post a comment below, or Tweet my way.

Ideas, suggestions, challenges? Email practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, How to Cook Grits, And Why You Should.

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Menus

2 responses to “Weekly Menus: Week of 4/29/2012

  1. When I don’t feel like being in my kitchen, I let the husband do it, who is by the way a pretty decent cook himself with a recipe to follow or with things I’ve taught him over the years.

    • The Practical Cook

      An excellent strategy! That is the dilemma, push through and cook though you don’t feel like it, or Punt! in some fashion . . .

Leave a Reply

