Weekly Menus: Week of 4/22/2012 (with bonus Farmer’s Market suggestions!)

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook is getting ready to do some serious cooking and eating this week. I’ll be making a full Southern spread, and eating at a chef’s table tasting meal. Having just been introduced to the concept of “biscuit poisoning” (a quaint shorthand for needing to push back from the table a bit more often), I think I’ll be looking to extend the workouts this week.

Who knew Orange Blossom Brioche was in season? (I heart the Farmer's Market.)

Who knew Orange Blossom Brioche was in season? (I heart the Farmer's Market.)

But never fear, it’s CSA time, so the vegetables will be flying. Enough chitchat, here’s what’s on the menu this week.

Weekly Menus:

Weekly Menus: 4/22/2012

Weekly Menus: 4/22/2012

The Four-Square Grocery Shopping List:

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 4/22/2012

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 4/22/2012

And the CSA:

lettuce mix
green buttercrunch lettuce
tuscano kale
chorizo

Which translates into:

Sunday: Bok choy and dumplings
The bok choy is from the CSA, and the dumplings are from Trader Joe’s. Couldn’t be simpler to toss together a Sunday supper.

Monday: Southern 101
The Jrs and I will be bringing our A game to this instructional meal: biscuits, sausage, bacon, greens, strawberries, grits, and potentially sweet potato hash or chips. We shall see.

My favorite, biscuit with molasses. On a pony plate of course.

My favorite, biscuit with molasses. On a pony plate of course.

Tuesday: Sammies and Soup
Great way to use up what’s about to go South, and not in the good way.

Bruschetta for dinner: the perfect way to use up a little bit of everything

Bruschetta for dinner: the perfect way to use up a little bit of everything

Wednesday: Lasagna
This is my make-ahead meal for the week. The Practical Cook’s Mom can toss this in the oven while I go dine on things that involve foam. I remain unconvinced by the molecular gastronomy movement, but I will be tweeting about it.

Thursday: Beans and Rice
The batch of black beans and rice I cooked last week will be put to use again. Perhaps in burritos or as juevos rancheros. Or just in a bowl with avocado on top.

Black Beans and Rice: Simple and Satisfying for Dinner

Black Beans and Rice: Simple and Satisfying for Dinner

Friday: Beef something
I need to complete the cow consumption to make way for more. Beefy ideas welcome. I may go with meatloaf to use up some bacon from the Monday meal. Do you like my logic there?

Saturday: Dine Out!
The Jrs have been quite adventurous and opinionated as of late. Let’s find out what happens.

WEEKLY CHALLENGE! If you have not dipped a toe into the world of Farmer’s Market, let this be the spring you give it a shot. I suggest starting simple, so you don’t end up a) getting overwhelmed and leaving with nothing or b) buying one of everything. I have done both. Make a small list, and focus on replacing a few things you’d normally buy. Lettuce is a nice place to start. Then challenge yourself to buy one new vegetable, something crazy. I met kohlrabi that way.

Which veggie do you want to learn how to cook? Post a comment below or send a Tweet my way!

Questions, ideas for future blogs, and food fights may be brought to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Wednesday: Can this supper be saved? Three Fast Flavor Boosts.

6 Comments

Filed under Weekly Menus

6 responses to “Weekly Menus: Week of 4/22/2012 (with bonus Farmer’s Market suggestions!)

  1. Carolyn

    Bruschetta for dinner – brilliant! We call leftover night – “mixed grill” which is beloved by my kids (hopefully forever!) But bruschetta – what couldn’t be improved by bread!

  2. Challenge accepted and complete! Am looking forward to straight-up tomato sandwich with juicy heirlooms purchased this morning. We also got something affectionately named ” Death Salsa.” Yowza!

    • The Practical Cook

      Nicely done! I am geographically jealous of your tomatoes right now. Soon I can join you in that, but not quite yet!

      How is the Death Salsa?

      • Honestly the Death Salsa was too much for me, but very much enjoyed by others. But I would have been disappointed if it was anything less than tear-inducing!

Leave a Reply

