Mail Bag: Your Questions, Answered! (Decaf Coffee, Cold Pizza, and More!)

Gentle Readers, sometimes when The Practical Cook asks for feedback, it comes more in waves than drips. This is one such week. Thanks to the less-than-mild-not-actually-a-reader, Waldorf, for two of the questions. I plan on filing it under “be careful what you wish for.”

But I digress, on to the questions:

1. Is decaf real coffee? Yes. I get more grief for this particular quirk of mine than any other. Sample reactions, “You call yourself a foodie” (for the record, I do not); “More like Brown Water”; “Why Bother?” I answer with a question of my own, “Have you met me?” Perhaps my videos convey the natural effervescence of my personality, but let’s just say caffeine leads to hummingbird-esque behavior. I love the taste, the bitterness of coffee, but my body apparently overdosed and has now stopped accepting input.

For the Love of Lattes

For the Love of Lattes

What I think is not real coffee: supersweet stuff. I can name 2 techdudes who order tween coffees, but I shall withhold their names to preserve their dignity. What happens at Starbucks, stays at Starbucks, and on your app.

2. Can cold pizza be better than hot pizza? Absolutely. Sometimes congealing is the missing step in the process that can elevate meh pizza into delicious. I think of cold pizza primarily as a snack or breakfast food, but I am not averse to eating it whenever. Let’s take a vote, shall we?

3. How can I eat more vegetables, more salads, etc.? (Decidedly not from Waldorf, just ask Buttercup.) The first rule is you must keep the components in your house at all times. I am rarely without more than one type of lettuce, and thanks to my CSA from Brinkley Farms (spring session starts next week, woot!), and The Practical Cooks Junior’s efforts in urban gardening, we’ll be rolling in greens soon.

Blackberry Salad with Sweet Pecans and Mozzarella Cheese

Blackberry Salad with Sweet Pecans and Mozzarella Cheese

Basically, keep the types of ingredients you like in salads on hand. I recommend at least one kind of green, romaine and spinach keep longest; something orange, carrots or sweet potatoes or mandarin oranges in a can; something fruity, see oranges, any berry, apples; something crunchy, including nuts, bacon, seeds, or chips of any stripe. If you have more kinds of candy in your house than salad ingredients, reverse that. Problem solved.

And for the challenge: To keep kosher for a week. This is extra challenging because I don’t know how. So there will be research, and then I shall boldly go forth. I’m thinking of my good friend whose recent journey to search for Passover items led to a clerk telling her that he didn’t know if they had anything, but there were some things leftover from Chanukah. Oy vey.

As always, keep the questions and challenges coming. I do adore a challenge, even if it involves not eating bacon. Would love to hear your thoughts on today’s questions. Who is on team Cold Pizza? Post a comment, send a tweet, drop me a line!

Send questions, challenges, and kind remarks to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Sunday, it’s time for Weekly Menus! (Because I like to tell the world what’s for dinner . . . )

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, On the Table

Leave a Reply

