Kitchen Tool Talk: 3 of My Least Used Things

Gentle Readers, may the one amongst us with no useless kitchen gadgets cast the first bread machine. Today’s post is the inverse of my typical tool talk, where I espouse the joy of things I love. This is the admission that not every purchase is a winner.

Three of My Least Favorite Kitchen Gadgets: Avocado Slicer, Garlic Roaster, Egg Beaters

Three of My Least Favorite Kitchen Gadgets: Avocado Slicer, Garlic Roaster, Egg Beaters

I have cast out the dish rack, the kettle was lost and not to be replaced, and now the utility drawer is under fire. Here are three more items headed for the yard sale. Thanks to the Gentle Reader who sent this NYT article on “The Kitchen Tools You Never Needed.” I needed the article way more than the fish poacher.

These are my new kettles. They boil water AND cook food.

These are my new kettles. They boil water AND cook food.

Three of My Least Favorite Kitchen Gadgets

1. Avocado Slicer. It was a bit of a gag gift, and the thought was greatly appreciated. However, my knife and a spoon not only suffice, but do a better job.

2. Garlic Roaster. I”m a sucker for self-reflective gadgets, such as a mushroom brush shaped like a mushroom, but even the jaunty garlic atop this creation won’t save it. I pan roast garlic for speed, and I’ve used this exactly 2 times in 15 years.

3. Egg Beaters. Again, nostalgia overwhelms sense here. I have 2 whisks, which I adore, and I can use them with one hand and a minimum of cursing. Winner!

The Practical Cook confessional is now open. Post a comment and share your guilty gadgets. I won’t tell. Too many people.

Send questions, useful tools, and food challenges to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Friday, Chicken Chowder Recipe (What Makes It Chowder, Corn).

3 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Tool Talk

3 responses to “Kitchen Tool Talk: 3 of My Least Used Things

  1. missgrill

    Love it! I actually stay away from purchasing single purpose gadgets as they end up just taking up space. I do have egg beaters which I inherited with my home… use quite often!

    • The Practical Cook

      I make exceptions for any inherited kitchen item. History trumps practicality! 😉

      • missgrill

        Absolutely! I took over a completely furnished cabin built by my grandparents in the 1950’s. have already been snapping shots for some future post!

Leave a Reply

