Taste Test Challenge: Peanut M&M’s vs Pretzel M&M’s (with video)

Gentle Readers, how many varieties of M&M’s could there be? The Practical Cook just learned there are white chocolate ones, too. However, one must draw the line somewhere, lest the colorful candy shell envelop a Brussels sprout next. I digress. A Gentle Reader challenged me to taste the Pretzel M&M’s, and I accepted.

Pretzel M&M's, because sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don't.

Pretzel M&M's, because sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don't.

After all, who doesn’t love a crunchy, salty, sweet snack? Silence, just as I thought. Let’s roll the tape, shall we?

So the results are in, The Practical Cook still votes squarely in the traditional Peanut M&M camp. In fact, I had some plain M&M’s in trail mix the other day and was reminded how satisfying they were. Basically, it’s been a chocolate sort of month. To be fair, The Practical Cooks Junior prefer all new types of M&M over the old, while The Practical Cook’s Dad (a veteran taster), sides with me. There is apparently an age line drawn in the candy-coated debate.

Not sure I want my candy talking to me.

Not sure I want my candy talking to me.

So what’s your stand? Plain, Peanut, Pretzel, Peanut Butter? Vote for your favorite M&M by posting a comment. Make your voice heard! Let us caucus over candy, if for not other reason than to give me the opportunity to use that verb. I can hear you out there.

Serious questions, knock knock jokes, and chocolate challenges can be emailed to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Friday, I’m eating veggies all week to prepare for Bacon Brackets, Round 2: Gourmet Grocery Store Edition!

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Snacks

Leave a Reply

