Valentine’s Day Smackdown: Peanut vs Peanut Butter M&M’s (with video)

Gentle Readers, never let it be said that The Practical Cook avoids controversy. Currently there is one brewing in the field of hard-shelled candies, better known as M&M’s. These days, you can get them filled with anything, not just plain or peanut. And, I hope you’re seated, there are those among us who prefer the upstart flavors.

Snacktime Smackdown: Peanut M&M's vs Peanut Butter M&M's

Snacktime Smackdown: Peanut M&M's vs Peanut Butter M&M's

Today’s challenge is a head to head competition: Peanut M&M’s vs Peanut Butter M&M’s. I am not going to lie, I love Peanut M&M’s with a deep and abiding passion. But two people (looking at you Cpt Cranky and Miss Clairol), who love peanut butter like I love peanut butter, claimed the new kid on the block was king. Well, those are fighting words. Or at least snacking ones.

Which M&M won my heart? (Hint: Crunchy is better.)

Which M&M won my heart? (Hint: Crunchy is better.)

Survey says, watch the video:

In the end, I still prefer the Peanut M&M by quite a large margin. However, tasters who dislike chunks in their food preferred the Peanut Butter M&M’s. If you like chunky peanut butter, stick with the original. But mint, pretzel, etc? I’m not even trying those without just cause. Sorry.

Peanut Butter Wars: Crunchy vs Smooth

Peanut Butter Wars: Crunchy vs Smooth

What’s your preference, Plain, Peanut, or Peanut Butter M&M’s? Don’t try to say you don’t like M&M’s, because I will faint dead away. Post a comment below, the world awaits your pronouncement.

Do you have a challenge, food question, or blog idea? Email me at practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, 3 Things I Love (in the Kitchen).

6 Comments

Filed under Snacks

6 responses to “Valentine’s Day Smackdown: Peanut vs Peanut Butter M&M’s (with video)

  1. Peanut M&M’s are my favorite and responsible for much of my weight gain! They’re kryptonite!

  2. Peanut Butter M&Ms for Life! Really, I have the tattoo! LOL They have no chance of sustained survival in the Atwell house!

    • The Practical Cook

      Peanut butter M&M’s clearly have an active and passionate following. That simply leaves more peanut M&M’s for me. Thanks in advance. :)

      • LOL. To tell you the truth I love the Peanut ones as well but have a very strong reason for liking the PB ones better. I’ve never eaten a PB one where there was a bad peanut that ruined the whole bag for me. This is especially bad when the last Peanut M&M you eat has a bad peanut in it!

      • The Practical Cook

        That is a good point, but I’d rather risk one bad peanut than eat a bag of mediocre candy. I’m sorry, I’m going that far. I wanted more peanut butter pow from the PB ones. Perhaps if they produce a crunchy peanut butter version. Are you listening M&M’s?

Leave a Reply

