Kitchen Tool Talk: Technology Time

Gentle Readers, there is no one as fervent as the newly converted, and The Practical Cook is no exception. You see, though my day job puts me at the bleeding edge of technology, my personal connectivity has lagged behind a bit. Not for any reason in particular, just circumstance and timing. Always something else to be done, until recently.

My New Sous Chef: the iPad.

My New Sous Chef: the iPad.

I broke down and bought an iPad. It is in part for The Practical Cooks Junior, who can probably control the space station with it at this point. But it was also a way for me to increase my productivity. I love having it in the kitchen. It’s great for jotting down ideas, checking recipes, taking a picture (in some circumstances), and Tweeting while I saute.

Now I’m pondering which apps to download, and whether I want to create one myself. So I’m crowdsourcing this one today: How do you use technology in the kitchen? Do you print recipes, keep a tablet or computer at hand, livetweet your dinner? (Wait, that last one is probably just me . . .)

Questions, challenges, suggestions? Email me at practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

And tomorrow, it’s time for Weekly Menus once again.

2 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Tool Talk

2 responses to “Kitchen Tool Talk: Technology Time

  1. re jotting down notes, check out the Jot and attendant app.

Leave a Reply

