Slow Down, You Chew Too Fast (You’ve Got to Make the Good Food Last)

Gentle Readers, let those amongst us who have not engaged in the less than gentle activity of wolfing down food like a wild dog cast the first fork. I don’t see any cutlery flying people. I will openly confess, there are times, in fact today, where my eating gets delayed, and I attack the first thing I see. My poor colleagues witnessed an assault on some stray trail mix I found in my purse. It was not pretty.

Trail Mix for Travel

Trail Mix for Travel

But let us all make this the exception, not the rule. As I’ve carried on before about the joy of salad chewing, and chewing in general, clearly my tastes run to the bovine. The endless research done on why French people can eat croissants daily and not gain an ounce pretty much all says, exercise, and enjoy your food.

Bovines at Rest: The Original Slow Chewers

Bovines at Rest: The Original Slow Chewers

I saw one study that indicated we eat more of food we don’t like. Yes, that sounds nuts, but I believe it. It’s as if you can consume it until it improves. So tonight, though I was unbelievably hungry (do not snicker Gentle Readers who know me, yes, that is my near-constant state), I made myself sit down, and really chew and taste. I ate less, and I enjoyed more.

Composed salad from work with berries, nuts, and goat cheese.

Composed salad from work with berries, nuts, and goat cheese.

The whole short schedule for school lunches as always made me a bit nuts, but I continue to be impressed at how The Practical Cooks Junior adapt. They ask me to pack smaller lunches. They take what they can consume and still enjoy the social experience with their friends. Would that we all be that clever and retain that good sense into adulthood.

Sandwiches, fruit, and brownies on a fancy tiered platter.

Sandwiches, fruit, and brownies on a fancy tiered platter.

So that’s my challenge to you, the next time you find yourself inhaling instead of chewing your food. What does it taste like? What did it taste like? What do you like or dislike about it? Would you eat it again?

Be you food turtle or hare, post a comment below and share!

Send your kudos, complaints, and queries to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up, on the road again, a restaurant review: Beaufort Grocery (in NC).

6 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy

6 responses to “Slow Down, You Chew Too Fast (You’ve Got to Make the Good Food Last)

  1. Friea

    Greatly enjoyed this post & your wordplay … “cast the first fork” and all of that. Will try to do better.

  2. Great post, enjoyed it and think I’ll have to share it on my blog. Hope you find interesting things on my blog too!

  3. You are so right! Last year I started actually counting how many chews I performed per mouthful – trying to get close to 50 (on the chewy stuff). I found that I slowed way down, felt fuller on less food, and ate less. Every once in a while now I stop to count just to prevent myself from falling back into the habit of gulping down my food.

    • The Practical Cook

      I’ve never done the count, I’ll have to try it. I’m curious to run the stats on myself. I have found when I’m just not chewing, it’s not a good sign. 🙂

      Good tip to use that intermittently to slow yourself down!

Leave a Reply

