Happy New Year! The First Weekly Menus of 2012!

Gentle Readers, there is such pressure to create the first weekly menus for the new year. All of the dreams and expectations of the future. Well, that and I have to return to work running full tilt. So with that, here is a practical approach to the coming week. Best of all, I’m starting the new year in the kitchen with friends, continuing the Sunday Dinner tradition.

Happy New Year to all, and I look forward to another year in the kitchen (and the grocery store, and your fave restaurants, and . . .) with you. As always, contact me with ideas, questions, suggestions. I’m listening! And if you know how to do a pull-up, and can coach me, I need that, too.

Here are the Weekly Menus for 1/1/2012:

Weekly Menus: 1/1/2012

Weekly Menus: 1/1/2012

And the Four-Square Grocery List:

Four-Square Shopping List: 1/1/2012

Four-Square Shopping List: 1/1/2012

Which translates into:

Sunday: Collard greens, black eyed peas, pork, cornbread, probably some rice
We may end up eating this twice tomorrow. We have to carbo-load to compensate from the 500 miles of scooter-ing we are doing.

Monday: Mexican?
Could be tacos, burritos, enchiladas, nachos, or just beans and rice. I don’t want to commit just yet. [Late-breaking, it’s nachos per special request by the crew.]

Tuesday: Fridge Surprise!
There’s some holiday clean-up that needs to happen in there. Don’t judge, I can’t be the only one with a fridge full of good intentions.

Wednesday: Breakfast for Dinner
I have been craving grits, that’s really the whole reason for this meal. That and everyone will eat it.

Thursday: Pasta and Salad
When you live on the East coast and work West coast hours, this meal is necessary. Thursday is always a challenge,  so I am planning to Punt! in advance.

Friday: Chicken Surprise!
Well, I’m feeling the improv this week. Everything is a surprise, even to me. And the exclamation marks, well, that’s pretty much how enthusiastic I am in real life. I’m currently planning to glaze the chicken with some Christmas-gift-marmalade. If it works, you’ll hear about it.

Saturday: Food Trucks!
We haven’t stalked the food trucks in too long, and the The Practical Cooks Junior were chanting “Chirba Chirba Chirba Chirba” in the backseat. I can take a hint. The Eldest then recited the menu and led a thoughtful discussion regarding her favorite dumplings. Raising a couple of foodies, not easy.

How are you kicking of the new year in the kitchen? Are you hitting the salads, rebuking the cookies? Will you be channeling your inner Thomas Keller? Resolve to comment below. It’s easy AND fun.

Send your extra collards, good wishes, and queries to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, Collards Recipe for Haters! Let’s start the year off with some leafy greens, shall we? Veggie and non-veggie versions coming your way.

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Menus

2 responses to “Happy New Year! The First Weekly Menus of 2012!

  1. Kelsey

    Bittman’s just arrived in the mail, per your recommendation. Looking forward to working through some of it as well as two others I ended up getting as birthday gifts. Really looking for new side dishes, Amy, so would appreciate your creative expertise in that area.

    • The Practical Cook

      Can’t wait to hear what you think about the Mark Bittman cookbook. I find him inspirational and accessible. He’s not a scolder. I love the side dish challenge: so give me some details. Do you like easy side dishes, more complex (more than 2 or 3 ingredients), orange, green, grain? Give me some parameters! Perhaps I’ll start an “On the Side” category for 2012!

Leave a Reply

