New Year’s Resolutions: In the Kitchen and Beyond!

Gentle Readers, lean in close. The Practical Cook simply adores New Year’s Resolutions. Yes, many people make them to break them, and some people even run away as if allergic, but not me. Last year I resolved to do something different with my life, and here we are, together in the kitchen. So what’s on my list this year? Read on.

Baby New Year (aka, The Eldest Practical Cook Junior) in the Kitchen

Baby New Year (aka, The Eldest Practical Cook Junior) in the Kitchen: Never Too Young to Start

The Practical Cook’s New Year’s Resolutions (aka, a Public Shaming Event):

1. Cook for more people more often. This has been a busy year for me, full of change, so I forgive me for not entertaining every night of the week. However, inspired to do the At-Home thing, I want to open my home and kitchen more in 2012. Selfishly, it means more suckers, ahem, Gentle Tasters, in the process. Thanks to my friend RockStar for more ideas on how to do this. Details pending in coming days.

Summer Thanksgiving Feast

Summer Thanksgiving Feast

2. Travel more. I’m fortunate to have a job that requires travel, and a support network that enables me to do so and still Mom (yes, that’s an action verb). But I want to do more remote field research. What a great time to be a fan of food, there’s so much eating to be done. If you’ve got suggestions for places to eat near you, let me know. Near or far, I’m making a list.

Fried Chicken at The Pig in Chapel Hill, NC

Fried Chicken at The Pig in Chapel Hill, NC

3. Try one new thing a month. This could be a new food, a new ingredient, a new life experience. Last year I took an improv class, sang on camera, and wrote 300 to 600 words daily. Not bad. This year, I want to take some cooking classes, learn to shoot a gun (non-living targets only, and don’t ask, just trust me on this one), and eat things outside of my comfort zone. No Nutella though, not that.

Fresh Warm Madeleine, Sans Nutella

Fresh Warm Madeleine, Sans Nutella

4. Complete 1 legitimate pull-up. If you know me personally, you know my mini-obsession with the micro-workout. I strive for 80 crunches and 20 pushups daily (those would be standard, not girl pushups). But the pull-up, that’s an elusive target. I can get maybe a 3 degree bend in my arm right now. Ask me how I’m doing on this through the year, I’ll keep you posted.

This is meant to be a picture of my new fave T (love the Muppets), but will use as a baseline on the pull-up regime. Wish me luck.

This is meant to be a picture of my new fave T (love the Muppets), but will use as a baseline on the pull-up regime. Wish me luck.

5. Keep blogging. There have been times where I thought I’d break the chain, fall to the pressures of life, my schedule, and a need to sleep at some point. But it has been a blast. This year, I want to incorporate more reader feedback, perhaps some guest bloggers (you know who you are), and always more video.

Are you a resolutions fan? Share yours below, or give me your two cents on mine. Post a comment, Tweet, or blog about it and send me the link!

Email strokes of brilliance, queries, and restaurants to review to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, New Year’s Day Food! Some of what I plan to make, revealed!

1 Comment

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Restaurant Reviews

One response to “New Year’s Resolutions: In the Kitchen and Beyond!

  1. Pingback: On the Road to One Pull-Up: The First Challenge (with video, of course) | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

