For the Love of Fried Pickles

Gentle Readers, as a Southerner, The Practical Cook has always been fond of pickles. Cucumbers are of course traditional, but pickling anything means it lands on holiday tables: okra, beets, olives, etc. Only recently did I become converted to the Fried Pickle. In the Durham, NC, area there are two leading contenders.

Tyler’s Taproom, Durham, NC:

A Regional Favorite: Tyler's Fried Pickles (Durham, NC Location)

A Regional Favorite: Tyler's Fried Pickles (Durham, NC Location)

Bull City Burger, Durham, NC:

Fried Pickles from Bull City Burger, Durham, NC

Fried Pickles from Bull City Burger, Durham, NC

For me, I choose Bull City Burger for being slightly more crispy. However, I recognize the Tyler’s appeal for being more pickle-y and very flavorful. All of this left me wondering if anyone fries sweet pickles. I have an obsession with the Korean pickles at Vit Goal in Durham, which are sweet-hot. I can imagine frying would only enhance my experience with them.

Clearly, in spite of my relatively healthy lifestyle, I like to leave room for the culinary equivalent of a salty fat bomb. Are you a fried pickle fan? Where do you get your fried on? Post a comment below!

 

I need your feedback! Send questions and suggestions for my Reader Review column upcoming: practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, the Accidental Butternut Bulgar Recipe.

2 Comments

Filed under Fried, Restaurant Reviews

2 responses to “For the Love of Fried Pickles

  1. gary

    Thanks for the post! I needed a place to get fried pickles tonight and I had already had the Bull City Burger ones. I thought they were thin and kind of flavorless – not what I am used to for fried pickles – so I am glad I have a backup at Tyler’s.

Leave a Reply

