Fried Friday: Beasley’s Chicken and Honey Reviewed (with video)

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook is happy to announce yet another strong contender for the Fried Chicken hall of fame, Beasley’s Chicken and Honey. I have now sampled their standard fried chicken and their chicken biscuit, and wow, that is all I have to say. It tastes like sunshine on a cold winter’s day.

Hello Beasley's Chicken Biscuit, I miss you.

Hello Beasley's Chicken Biscuit, I miss you.

The chicken biscuit, with a pickled green tomato and a honey/Dijon sauce I’m pretty sure I would drink, is my favorite. It fell apart in the eating, and that did not stop my assault on said chicken biscuit. From my Bojangle’s fan who was eating with me, Bo-Who? Yes, it’s that good.

My Beasley's Chicken Biscuit with Pickled Green Tomato and Sides

My Beasley's Chicken Biscuit with Pickled Green Tomato and Sides

Roll the tape (so good, I cut my own head off in the making of this video, um figuratively, do pardon):

If you go, don’t miss the pimento cheese mac-n-cheese. It is somehow the perfect balance of those two things. I will be in the test test kitchen on this one. I would drive the necessary 45 minutes just to eat that. Trust me.

I would throw elbows to get at this Pimento Cheese Mac-N-Cheese from Beasley's

I would throw elbows to get at this Pimento Cheese Mac-N-Cheese from Beasley's

I plan to go back and retest the fried chicken on the bone, dark meat. My first taste was later at night, and was white meat, and though the flavor was good, it wasn’t on par with some of the other chickens sampled. The chicken biscuit was revelatory, so I suspect the white meat was a rare miss. One day, I hope to make it to the dessert course.

Are you a fan of the chicken biscuit? Post a comment below, or Tweet!

Send questions, comments, and queries to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up next, Reindeer Muffins. Not in the bad way.

2 Comments

Filed under Fried, Restaurant Reviews

2 responses to “Fried Friday: Beasley’s Chicken and Honey Reviewed (with video)

  1. Cat Brutvan

    My office is a block away. Let me know when you can have Round 2!

    • The Practical Cook

      That sounds like plenty enough reason to plan Round 2! I’ll be checking the calendar. (And I envy your prime work location!)

Leave a Reply

