Five Things I’m Thankful For: Happy Thanksgiving!

Perhaps some of you will be reading this with morning coffee, parking the bird in the oven for a long roast. Or maybe you’re sneaking a peek at your smartphone under the table. The Practical Cook won’t tell.

This year has brought a lot of change for me, so it’s a perfect time to think about Five Things I’m Thankful For:

1. Gentle Readers. Yes, as saccharine as it may seem, this blog would be nothing without your participation. Thank you for reading, the questions, the challenges, and the thank yous. When I end up cooking or blogging after a long day, like all of us have, I think about the people who have let me know something I’ve done has helped you want to cook again, or for the first time. Makes it all worthwhile.

2. The Food Bank of Eastern and Central North Carolina. I have been tapped as a Social Media Ambassador for the Food Bank, and I’m so thankful for the work they do every day. Hunger is real, and it’s a problem we can address. Look for ways to help out where you live.

3. Family and Friends. You’ve eaten my food, dealt with my camera in your plate, and inspired me more than I can say. Thanks to all of you, both the monikered and those quietly cheering me on.

4. Food Traditions. I love Thanksgiving. I love eating dishes my great-aunts and Granny taught me and my mom to make. I love cooking side by side with my sister-in-law, incorporating her family traditions into the menu. There are no presents to buy, there are no eggs to dye, this holiday is all about the food and community. Yes, please.

5. The Interweb. Yes, it is nerdy, but what an amazing place to connect with like-minded people. My phone is now far smarter than my first computer (and for the techies reading this, not one word about my “phone”). If I want to research a new ingredient, read another blog, connect, bam, I can do it, any hour of the day. Wow. I’m sure the Pilgrims would have LOLed more if social media was a part of the original celebration.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving? Post a comment below, or Tweet with #thankful as your hashtag.

Send your leftovers and your sweatpants to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, One Ingredient, Three Ways: Turkey Edition.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy

Leave a Reply

