Fried Chicken Friday: The Pig in Chapel Hill (with video)

Gentle Readers, for those of you who haven’t been tracking the quest, The Practical Cook is on the hunt for the best fried chicken. There is no qualifying clause there, I just want an excuse to eat fried chicken. The suggestions started pouring in, and one of the leading contenders was The Pig in Chapel Hill.

Meet The Pig’s chicken (you’ve got to know your chicken):

I will admit, I’m not the biggest fan of their barbecue (don’t hate me, but I am originally from just outside of Lexington, NC), and their mac-n-cheese is smokier than a Chapel Hill dive bar in the 90s, but their chicken made me stand up and say amen.

Fried Chicken at The Pig in Chapel Hill, NC

Fried Chicken at The Pig in Chapel Hill, NC

Great pickles, though sweet if that bothers you, and wonderfully fresh orange-ish slaw that didn’t smack me with celery seed. However, the star is the fried chicken, which is succulent, crispy, and hyper-floury without being annoying. If you’re a fan of pie crust, for instance, you’ll love it. It’s not the rolling crispy of your Bojangles, but a flat crispy with a good slight red peppery back finish.

Slaw at The Pig in Chapel Hill, a Cabbage Balm for your Deep Fried Guilt

Slaw at The Pig in Chapel Hill, a Cabbage Balm for your Deep Fried Guilt

In fact, I want to go eat some more right now. The hush puppies, meh, they’re the puffy pillowy kind, and I prefer more corn and onion to mine. If I could order a bucket to go, I would, and it would not be pretty. As my partner in crime, FoodieAsAService, ordered a nice array of items, I’m also pleased to recommend the pimento cheese fries. I didn’t think it would work, but boy howdy it did. I will go back for my own plate next time.

Pimento Cheese Fries at The Pig in Chapel Hill. Next time, I'll order my own.

Pimento Cheese Fries at The Pig in Chapel Hill. Next time, I'll order my own.

What makes fried chicken great for you? Have a place to recommend? Post a comment below!

Send your wetnaps and suggestions to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, An Ode to Pancakes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fried, Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

