Tuesday Tasting: She Wore Red Velvet, Ice Cream Review with Video

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook does not shy away from controversy. It came calling in the form of the Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream from Ben & Jerry’s. Is it delicious or nasty? Let’s roll the tape:

On balance, I was neither thrilled nor offended. I haven’t opened the carton since, but I haven’t tossed it out either. During a recent taste test of the cornucopia of flavors in my freezer, The Practical Cook’s Mom declared it her favorite. She didn’t think it tasted like Red Velvet Cake, but she liked it. So the dividing line stands.

Red Velvet Ice Cream from Ben and Jerry's

Red Velvet Ice Cream from Ben and Jerry's

To sum up, Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream looks like Strawberry, and tastes like Cake Batter plus Red. There is not a trace of German Chocolate about it, as I was raised on in the South.

Are you a fan of Red Velvet Cake? Have you tried the ice cream? Post a comment below!

Send cups, cones, and requests to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, Bacon Popcorn Unveiled.

6 Comments

Filed under Snacks

6 responses to “Tuesday Tasting: She Wore Red Velvet, Ice Cream Review with Video

  1. Hmm. This is on my list of flavors to try. Based on your review, I think I’d probably like it! Hurray!

    • The Practical Cook

      I look forward to hearing what you think of this one! It’s no Red Velvet Funnel Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting. 🙂

  2. Maria Ellis

    I tasted more cream cheese flavor than chocolate. Not bad, but would not rush to buy again. Are you going to jump into the Jimmy Fallon Late Night Snack vs Stephen Colbert AmeriCone fray?

  3. Amy

    Interesting results. After I saw this flavor at the store, I was planning to try it. But I kept stalling, and I finally realized why. I didn’t want red velvet cake ice cream. I wanted red velvet cake! So last week I bought some bright red food coloring and baked a cake. Yum!

Leave a Reply

