Restaurant Review: Chuck’s in Raleigh

Gentle Readers, there are few things The Practical Cook enjoys more than perfect fries and an interesting burger. Except perhaps a milkshake on top. This nirvana was found recently at one of Ashley Christensen of Poole’s fame’s latest ventures: Chuck’s.

The Practical Cook Hugs Chuck's Mascot, Because That Is What She Does.

The Practical Cook Hugs Chuck's Mascot, Because That Is What She Does.

First, the decor is clean, if a little too bright in my opinion. This is high-end bar food, pub grub. I don’t want to be blinded by the light in such situations. I started with a milkshake, as referenced in the Milkshake Party post, the Salted Peanut Butter Roasted Banana one, again, because I can’t really help myself. It was delish, but meant for sharing:

Hello delicious Salty Peanut Butter Roasted Banana Milkshake.

Hello delicious Salty Peanut Butter Roasted Banana Milkshake.

We split an order of fries, nay, frites (aka Belgian fries). I call attention to the difference, because there is one if done properly, and these were done properly. I missed walking down the streets of NYC mightily when I tasted these. They were hot, crisp, moist inside (not in the dirty way), and the garlic aioli rocked the house. However, for $4, we got about 4 fries. I would rather pay $7 and be flooded with them.

The Dirty South Burger from Chuck's

The Dirty South Burger from Chuck's

My burger: The Dirty South Burger with onions, slaw, and chili. I grew up on these, mainly from a drive-in just up the road from my childhood home. Then Wendy’s sold them as a Carolina burger and let the world in on the secret. This is an excellent representative of this burger style. Overall, I can’t name it the best burger in the Raleigh Durham Chapel Hill area (Geer Street Garden still owns my heart there), but it leaves me craving another one. It is very well-balanced and the memory lingers. Good work.

In the immortal words of Lorelai Gilmore: Dirty

In the immortal words of Lorelai Gilmore: Dirty

And the slaw is wonderfully purple, if that matters to you (extra points for appropriately purple food here):

Up close and personal (dirty) with The Dirty South Burger from Chuck's

Up close and personal (dirty) with The Dirty South Burger from Chuck's

I will return to Chuck’s for the burger and Belgian fries. My companions enjoyed the Spirit Animal and The High and the Valley as well. Interesting options, just please dim the lights next time! These are late-night cravings for me, and I want burgers and solitude. Thanks to my compatriots for assisting in the eating one of everything. Even I can only manage so much fried.

The High and the Valley Burger at Chuck's

The High and the Valley Burger at Chuck's

The Spirit Animal Burger at Chuck's

The Spirit Animal Burger at Chuck's

Have you tried Chuck’s yet? What do you think? Are you a fan of the Carolina-style burger? Post a comment below, or Tweet!

Send restaurant suggestions, fried chicken locations, and wishes for heart health to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, it must be Tasting Tuesday: Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream from Ben & Jerry’s.

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

