When Ice Cream Tastes Like Controversy: Ben and Jerry’s Schweddy Balls (with video)

Gentle Readers, it’s hard to even type that when The Practical Cook knows she’s getting ready to use some less than genteel language. But alas, it is my sworn duty to wade into challenging waters, and therefore, I have found and tasted Ben & Jerry’s Schweddy Balls Ice Cream.

If you like rum, you'll love Schweddy Balls Ice Cream from Ben & Jerry's

If you like rum, you'll love Schweddy Balls Ice Cream from Ben & Jerry's

Was it worth the search? Roll the tape:

In the end, I’m not as much of a rum fan as I am a peanut butter fan. This is good ice cream if you’re into the flavor profile, or looking to completely alienate a stuffy family member. Alternatively, it makes for a great hostess gift during the holidays. If you like malted milk balls, and rum balls, you’ll like this ice cream.

Try serving it over a chocolate stout cake for a holiday balls sensation.

Try serving it over a chocolate stout cake for a holiday balls sensation.

For me, I’ll stick with Clusterfluff or the German Chocolate Cake numbers. Go to Whole Foods if you’d like to perform the taste test, or let us know if you find it elsewhere! Post a comment below with your opinion and any additional locations for purchase for our viewing audience.

Send your ice cream challenges and sprinkles to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up tomorrow, a warm-up pitch: Three More of My Least Favorite Things. Names will be named.

9 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Snacks

9 responses to “When Ice Cream Tastes Like Controversy: Ben and Jerry’s Schweddy Balls (with video)

  1. Jenny

    I enjoyed this ice cream a lot – despite the name! The first time I tasted it, I didn’t even realize the flavor in the ice cream and the chewy er…spheres was rum. It seemed like just an enhanced vanilla. The second time I had it I knew about the rum, so could taste it more. Would eat again A++ πŸ™‚

    • The Practical Cook

      Excellent additional commentary. It is amazing how rum enhances and sharpens the vanilla taste! Nicely put, that if you like rum, good in spite of the name. πŸ™‚

  2. Kelly

    I love the idea of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream as a hostess gift. What a hoot!

  3. Joan

    I’ve been enjoying your controversial ice cream tastings. I only found Clusterfluff at my Whole Foods, and thought, oh, perhaps there is a line in the sand out here, too! (Purchased said Clusterfluff based on your review, also, though haven’t tried it yet.) Today I went to my Albertson’s – a normal, standard, grocery store – and chuckled to see that not only did they proudly carry Clusterfluff, but the infamous Schweddy Balls as well. Is this a litmus test for community moral standards? If so, the Las Vegas Valley is obviously on the salacious side of it!
    (I monitor my consumption of dangerous ice cream by purchasing mochi ice cream at Trader Joe’s. I feel sophisticated, and there is built in portion control. Plus, they are cute.)

    • The Practical Cook

      I’m pretty certain you’ve just won comments for the year. I need to develop an award, because I just want to tweet: Schweddy Balls located just outside of Vegas. I’m not sure I can resist. I have wondered about the community moral standards myself: the old “you know it when you see it.”

      I currently have 5 cartons of Ben & Jerry’s in the freezer. Mainly I try to convince other people to eat it at this point, though the Clusterfluff was mowed down by the Eldest TPC. More ice cream coming, I’ve got seasonal and the late-night hosts to deal with. πŸ™‚

  4. Joan

    Also accidentally Frankensteined my email address between work and personal, if that matters for anything. Actual email is joandalusung@yahoo.com .

    • The Practical Cook

      The email addie only matters in that if I’ve approved use of the address before. I’d like to tell you I keep all of my straight, but I would be lying. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Double Scoop Ice Cream Review: Ben and Jerry’s Cannoli and German Chocolate Gelato (with Video!) | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

