The Practical Cook’s First Recipe: What Is It?

Gentle Readers, apparently The Practical Cook has been practical for a very long time. Check out the first known recipe (though clearly not the first original one) as archived by TPC’s Official Biographer (Hi Mom!), probably committed to paper at around age 6 or 7:

The Practical Cook's First Recipe

The Practical Cook's First Recipe

Which translates into:

Two cups dry milk

One cup peanut butter

One-half cup honey

O 1/4 cup coconut

Apparently little me needed some editorial guidance in recipe formatting.

To be honest, I have no idea what this turns into, or what it tastes like, so I’m heading down to the test kitchen to make it and find out. An early version of peanut butter balls? Is “dry milk” the precursor to “whey powder”—let’s find out.

Blast from the Past: Here are the ingredients from the old recipe

Blast from the Past: Here are the ingredients from the old recipe

So I made a quarter of a recipe (that’s O 1/4 according to little me):

1/2 cup whey powder (my dry milk was way expired, and they seem roughly equivalent)
1/4 cup peanut butter
2 Tablespoons honey
1 Tablespoon coconut

Dude, little me either a) was not precise in writing this down, though that doesn’t ring true here b) whey powder and dry milk are vastly different or c) this entire experience is why I grew up to be The Practical Cook, abandoning recipes that seem completely wack. As written above, nothing would form.

Mystery Peanut Butter Recipe, Adjusted

Mystery Peanut Butter Recipe, Adjusted

So I took some liberties and adjusted the portions:

1/2 cup whey powder
1/2 to 3/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup honey
2 Tablespoons coconut (hey, I like coconut, but any more and the balls would have crumbled)

I rolled them together and tasted. Sweet, much drier than I would like, and enough protein that I felt like it was still the Cold War Era and I was being groomed to compete in the Olympics against our sworn enemies. Egads. Or that I was going to grow strong teeth and bones or else. Also, very thirsty.This snack is for long-distance hikers and survivalists. The taste was okay, but I don’t have to eat lunch now. Possibly for a week.

Peanut Butter Balls from TPC's Past: aka Protein Bombs

Peanut Butter Balls from TPC's Past: aka Protein Bombs

So I still stand behind my modern version of Peanut Butter Powerhouse Snacks. However, this experiment makes me want to go back and retest a few other childhood memories. Amazing how tastes and trends change over time. To little me, and all the other little me’s in the kitchen: keep cooking, you’ll grow into it one day.

Did you cook as a kid? What’s the first thing you remember making? Post a comment below, or Tweet!

Questions, comments, credentials? Email practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, it is Weekly Menu Time!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Snacks

2 responses to “The Practical Cook’s First Recipe: What Is It?

  1. Complicated Vegetarian

    0 1/4 cup is so cute! That sounds like you, TPC.
    To report on another junior under the influence out here: This morning CV Tall, age 9, made coffee cake and scrambled eggs–at the same time–totally by herself. Kitchen multitasking, from a junior! Celebrate!

Leave a Reply

