Clusterfluff: Worth the Hype? (Ben and Jerry’s Review with video)

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook is here to handle indelicate matters so you don’t have to. After all, ordering ice cream is no easy feat, much less when it’s called Clusterfluff.

Clusterfluff, would an ice cream by any other name taste as sweet?

Clusterfluff, would an ice cream by any other name taste as sweet?

Considering the less sanitized version is one of The Practical Cook’s favorite terms, it is a tricky balance to not slip.

Roll the tape:

Let’s not lie, this is peanut butter crack. Cold, hard peanut butter crack for a junkie like myself. High flavor, fabulous mouthfeel, and even though I might prefer Heath-Bar like toffee chunks over caramel oaty things, I still love it. The marshmallow swirl, when you hit it: like mining for ice cream gold.

Clusterfluff is shorthand for ice cream peanut butter crack.

Clusterfluff is shorthand for ice cream peanut butter crack.

So do the due diligence, and track the controversial flavor down. My local chain grocery didn’t carry it, but Whole Foods did. In fact, it might be fun to ask for it by name at the service desk. Please send video of your efforts.

What do you think of Clusterfluff? Post a comment below, or post a video response! Don’t be bashful, we’re all friends here.

Send your cones and spoons to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, Top 3 Uses for Leftover Candy.

14 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Snacks

14 responses to “Clusterfluff: Worth the Hype? (Ben and Jerry’s Review with video)

  1. Amy

    As a fellow peanut butter junkie, I will definitely be tracking this down (once I finish off the pint of B&J’s Boston Cream Pie in my freezer, which should happen any second now). Can’t wait to see you try the other controversial Ben &Jerry’s flavor. I have a guess, and if it’s what I’m thinking, it should be the perfect ice cream for the holiday season. πŸ™‚

    • The Practical Cook

      How is the Boston Cream Pie? And yes, tis the season for controversial B and J’s. πŸ™‚

      • Amy

        The Boston Cream Pie is pretty good, especially when slathered in hot fudge. On its own, it’s a little plain, but I’m a sucker for Boston cream pie in any form. I also want to try the Red Velvet Cake flavor one of these days….

      • The Practical Cook

        Excellent commentary. Though I think most things are delightful when slathered in hot fudge. In fact, I’m trying to think of what is not improved by that process. πŸ™‚ Red velvet will go on the list!

  2. I found Clusterfluff at Target, but they did not have the other controversial flavor (SB for short). I imagine they don’t have either one at Wal-mart, but then again who is shopping for premium ice cream like B&J at Wal-mart anyway?

    • The Practical Cook

      Excellent tip about finding Clusterfluff at Target! Now I have to go to Wal-Mart, just to see which ice creams they carry. Whole Foods has both, Harris Teeter has neither. The hunt continues!

  3. I live for your videos. They are so witty and well done!

    • The Practical Cook

      I may have to buy a pint of Clusterfluff for you based on my “will bribe for compliments” plan. πŸ™‚ And conveniently available at Target, your home away from home.

      Thanks! I love your video work as well.

  4. I also found my pint of Clusterfluff at Target. As soon as it came out (I think it was over the summer), I had to have it! And man, is that stuff good. It really is the definition of ice cream peanut butter crack.

    • The Practical Cook

      Clearly I need to start shopping for ice cream at Target. Although the addictive properties indicate perhaps not. #deepfriedicecream

  5. Excited for your Thanksgiving and Xmas seasonal reviews! This is a great time for Practical Cook and a better time for us fans. πŸ˜‰

    • The Practical Cook

      I think we should have a Pie Beer challenge leading up to Turkey Day. Name the pie beer, and I’ll taste it on video. I get to challenge you to the same. Cross linkage and hijnks ensue. Deal?

  6. Pingback: Peanut Butter Tuna Salad, Or Elvis Meets Charlie | The Practical Cook

  7. I LOVE clusterfluff! This is one of my favourite ice creams! It is just the right mix of everything! Love it!

Leave a Reply

