One Ingredient, Three Ways: Maple Butter (with Video PLUS Kellie Pickler Tickets Giveaway!!)

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook settled in to her blogging chair, thinking a nice cup of tea and a simple blog post were in order. But life doesn’t always work out that way, sometimes an opportunity comes knocking. Back to the business of Lilly’s Gourmet Maple Butter. Here it is, One Ingredient, Three Ways:

Lilly's Gourmet Maple Butter: I Think I Love You

Lilly's Gourmet Maple Butter: I Think I Love You

1.Apples. As a taste-test, I put a small spoonful of Maple Butter out next to the old stand-by peanut butter. The Maple Butter, with its seductive sweetness, was gone in a hot minute. It’s like what a caramel apple wishes it was on a good day. Bonus, fairly low calorie spend for the amount you’ll need with your apple. My fave Honeycrisp was a maple match made in heaven.

Apple Snack Tray with Peanut Butter and Maple Butter

Apple Snack Tray with Peanut Butter and Maple Butter

2. Oatmeal. Stir Maple Butter into your oatmeal, add a few pecans or walnuts, a little milk, and bam, breakfast. The warmth of the oatmeal makes the smell and flavor bloom, and it’s amazingly inspiring as the mornings grow darker and colder.

Hot Bread with Maple Butter Glaze

Hot Bread with Maple Butter Glaze

3. Hot Bread. I turned the Brown-N-Serve Rolls (atypical for me to have them, from the failed Doughnut Experiment) into glistening lures to eat vegetables with a simple dollop of Maple Butter on the top. It doesn’t take much to do the job, and would be fantastic on practically any bread product. I’ll be working it with sliced apples on waffles soon.

Where does one obtain this magical elixir? Admittedly, I sourced it after a free sample at the N.C. State Fair. I told you to beware the samples, didn’t I? In this case, I wasn’t at all sorry, and went back for reinforcements. But you can order it online. Bonus, Lilly’s Gourmet Maple Butter has a great story, too, as told to me by Nancy Foss, the force behind Lilly’s:

Are you a maple fan? Post a comment below or Tweet at me with #maple as the hashtag.

Send queries, questions, and recipe suggestions to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, it’s time again for Weekly Menus: Deep-Fried Detox Edition!

Leave a comment

Filed under One Ingredient Three Ways, Punt!

Leave a Reply

