You Say You Want a Revolution? (Restaurant Review!)

With the veritable whirlwind of eating opportunities in Durham these days, how does one decide? Well, Gentle Readers, if you’re in the mood for classy and delicious, try eating at the bar at Revolution. I specify because the dining area is definitely fine dining, and one is not always in the mood. In this case, I got to meet up with my friend FoodiePants and have a fab wine and split everything experience.

Bar's Eye View at Revolution in Durham

Bar's Eye View at Revolution in Durham

First, review the menu, and then order the Arancini. No matter what your culinary leanings are, just do this, and thank me later. If you’re not familiar with the dish, think of it as the hush puppy of Italy. Touching on yesterday’s theme, it is in fact deep fried rice and (usually) cheese.

All Hail the Arancini

All Hail the Arancini

Arancini is one of those things I order on sight, like pork belly. It’s just a reflex, uncontrollable and true. And Revolution delivered big-time. I will go on record as saying, it was probably the best rendition I’ve eaten to date. For my Italian readers, I’ve never been to Italy, so when The Practical Cook travels abroad, you can guide me to your grandma’s house, but till then, Revolution.

What's inside arancini? Answer: delicious

What's inside arancini? Answer: delicious

As FoodiePants and I like to tip our hats to good health and fitness, we felt compelled to include a vegetable into the mix. We ordered the beet and goat cheese salad. It was good, beautiful, and tasty, but had a hard time competing with a fried ball of rice and cheese covered in an unctuous reduction. But it did sop our guilt.

Beet and Goat Cheese Salad

Beet and Goat Cheese Salad

Now that vegetables were covered, we entered the hallowed halls of oversized ribeye with mashed potatoes and seasoned butter. The Two Fat Ladies would have shied away from this plate. Thus the strong recommendation for both price consideration and sheer gluttony prevention, split with a friend!

I am still missing this ribeye. Hello again.

I am still missing this ribeye. Hello again.

Because, you see, if I were left alone with this plate, no matter how much arancini I had consumed before, I would have eaten the whole thing. The steak was perfectly cooked, the mashed potatoes were off the charts good (and I’m picky, I’m not the world’s biggest fan of them), and the leeks a perfect complement.

Love the tasting menu nomenclature

Love the tasting menu nomenclature

Special thanks to the bartender for outstanding service and unfaltering recommendations in the wine and the food. Looking very much forward to my next omnivorous outing at Revolution!

Have you eaten at Revolution? What’s your take? Post a comment, or Tweet.

Send witty rejoinders and fan mail to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Stay tuned for Kitchen Tool Talk: Three (More) of My Favorite Things, On the Road Edition.

2 Comments

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

2 responses to “You Say You Want a Revolution? (Restaurant Review!)

  1. Oh wow! Another one to the list. I’m not used to living in such a rich foody environment!
    Speaking of which, I am taking a couple people out for a work lunch to here. Ever been?
    http://www.bibsdowntown.com/menu

    • The Practical Cook

      I barely have enough time to eat at all of the places I want to try. I have a growing list, and now it’s expanding past the Triangle into the Triad. Ah, WS, my old stomping grounds, but haven’t been to that place. Looks pretty great, I hope you’ll take pictures and do a review! (And be sure to go by the original Krispy Kreme on Stratford after.)

Leave a Reply

