Weekly Menus: Week of 9/4/2011

Clearly, The Practical Cook is still not fully present in a single time zone. In yesterday’s post, I forgot what day of the week it was. And this morning, the best intentions of getting up to work out, shop, blog, etc. went awry. In a word, I slept in. But better late than never, as I’m sure the one Gentle Reader who expects to read this missive over coffee will forgive me. (Sorry Mom.)

Now, to the business of the week. Let me further say that I’m working away in the test kitchen on a top secret project that will reveal itself shortly. Also, I am now done with summer. I’m done with mosquitoes, I’ve eaten my fill of tomatoes (sacrilege, but true), and I’m ready for delicata squash, heartier stews, and possibly even some simple loaf breads.

So on this week’s menu:

Weekly Menus: 9/4/2011

Weekly Menus: 9/4/2011

And the Four-Square Grocery List:

Four-Square Grocery List: 9/4/2011

Four-Square Grocery List: 9/4/2011

The CSA from Brinkley Farms (Doubled from Last Week’s Skip):

1 pk regular bratwurst
1 bag spicy greens mix
1 lb squash
2 lbs zucchini
1 lb mixed colored bell peppers
2 lbs acorn squash
2 lbs delicata squash

(I almost passed out with glee when I saw the selections from Brinkley Farms this week. Heaven!)

Which translates into:

Sunday: Indian
Dal, rice, okra in buttermilk, possibly some saag, roti

Monday: Leftovers/fish
This depends on the amount leftover and the looks of the fish at the store.

Tuesday: Braised Chicken
I have some chicken that needs to be consumed, and I’m deciding how it will be served. To be determined.

Wednesday: Polenta with Black Beans
Working on a product review here, and want to pair the polenta with something I need to make anyway, a large pot of black beans.

Thursday: Breakfast for Dinner
I predict French Toast, possibly with fried chicken of some stripe.

Friday: Pizza and Salad
Punt! I plan on being exhausted from the week’s lineup, and punting with frozen pizza and salad.

Saturday: Dine Out
Watch out food trucks, we’re coming to find you.

Okay, now it’s time to walk the hound dog, finish the grocery shopping, make the fig preserves, and drink some coffee, not necessarily in that order. Onward and upward!

Are you ready to change seasons culinarily speaking? What are you craving on the fall menus? Post a comment (I can hear you lurking) or Tweet!

Suggest a future taste test or blog post by writing to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up tomorrow (which I know is Monday) An Ode to Road Oatmeal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

