Cinnamon Rolls in a Can: Good Morning Sunshine!

School has started here, and The Practical Cook is relying on the thought of coffee to wake up in a timely fashion. You see, Gentle Readers, I am a night owl. For those of you who wonder when I blog, and how I work it in amongst momming and working, I’ll tell you, coffee and insomnia are key players. But through my life, I’ve tried to squeak through with extra shut-eye in the AM. Not superlate, just not a 6 AM reveille.

The Practical Cooks Junior are reasonable in their sleeping habits, but the beginning of school requires an extra boost. And what, besides the smell of coffee, can get someone going in the morning? The answer? Cinnamon rolls. From a can. (Links to some beauty shots of TJ’s cinnamon rolls. Mine, at 6:17 AM, did not look like that.)

Here are the remains of my gift to the senses on the first day of school, iced by the Eldest.

The Remains of the Cinnamon Rolls from a Can

The Remains of the Cinnamon Rolls from a Can

However, I have discovered that the kiddos find some brands “too spicy,” and somewhat prefer the orange-flavored rolls. One day, perhaps I’ll make my own. Next go-round, I may even Punt! with biscuit dough and adjust the seasonings. But on this bleary-eyed morning, whomp goes the can. Thank you Trader Joe’s.

How do you feel about cinnamon rolls in a can? What’s your favorite smell to wake up to in the morning? C’mon you lurkers, post a comment.

Coffee and queries can be emailed to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, When in Doubt, Buy Pony Plates.

6 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Punt!

6 responses to “Cinnamon Rolls in a Can: Good Morning Sunshine!

  1. Kelly

    Oooh, I forgot about this! I may just do it on Thursday. Although in our neck of the woods, you can get scones in a can, too. The cinnamon chip ones are good, and so are the blueberry. Just in a pinch, mind you.

    • The Practical Cook

      Wow, I never knew about scones in a can. That is something that may require some field research. 🙂 Blueberry you say . . .

  2. Lisa H

    Can’t believe I didn’t make cinnamon rolls for breakfast today! My kids love cinnamon rolls from a can. My favorite are http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/cinammon_rolls_/ Coffee maple icing!!!! They are amazing and even I can make them. My kids don’t love the coffee maple icing so I make plain icing, too. Yum!

    • The Practical Cook

      Most excellent tip! I’m going to have to try those. I love that cinnamon rolls are a universal alarm clock for kids. Much like coffee for adults. 🙂

  3. the un experianced cook

    do you broil or bake cinammon rolls????? 😛 i never know when to use which one. thats an unexperianced cook for ya

    • The Practical Cook

      This is strictly a baking exercise. Broiling will leave you with an unexpected brulee, and not in the good way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

