Product Review: Ben and Jerry’s Fair Goodness Sake (German Chocolate Ice Cream)

If I happened to get stranded on that infamous desert island one day, and only one dessert was available, let it be German Chocolate Cake. The Practical Cook’s Mom kindly made one for my birthday, and that recipe is coming later. For now, let us behold the instant gratification that is Ben and Jerry’s Fair Goodness Sake Limited Batch Ice Cream.

Ben and Jerry's Fair Goodness Sake Ice Cream

Ben and Jerry's Fair Goodness Sake Ice Cream

Don’t worry, Gentle Readers, I have taken it upon myself to taste this confection, to spare you from any upset. I pronounce it, tasty. There are chunks of cake, and a nice coconutty chew. If you don’t like coconut, don’t come  knocking. The chocolate flavor is light, as is befitting the German chocolate part of the equation, and there is a nice balance in the force.

German Chocolate Ice Cream

German Chocolate Ice Cream

Would I buy this again? Probably, but I’m not sure it’s safe to have it in my house. It is good, very good, but my love for the baked good greatly outweighs my love for ice cream. And to be even more candid, I tend to prefer vanilla based ice creams (Butter Pecan, things with a salty element to balance, or my all-time fave of Black Walnut with sliced bananas mixed in). My favorite chocolate is Haagen-Dazs Chocolate Peanut Butter. So that’s the context of my taste test.

Good, but I’m not shouting from the rooftop. Calorically speaking, I’d rather save it for one perfect chocolate chip cookie, or some Geer Street fries.

Are you an ice cream fanatic? What’s your flavor? Post a comment below or Tweet!

Suggest products for me to review. Email practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, The Joy of Pesto.

2 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, On the Table, Snacks

2 responses to “Product Review: Ben and Jerry’s Fair Goodness Sake (German Chocolate Ice Cream)

  1. Never been a huge ice cream fan… but I do get cravings for froyo from time to time!

    • The Practical Cook

      Glad to know I’m not alone with the ice cream thing (feels UnAmerican to admit I prefer the apple pie over the a la mode). There is quite a froyo following around here, I feel the need for some field research!

Leave a Reply

