Why I Love Locopops (And You Should Too): Review (with Video)

Gentle Readers, unless you reside in a cave or Antarctica, you are probably aware that it is too darn hot outside. As we say in the South, it’s not fitting (for man or beast, if you use the full expression). And it has nothing to do with the humidity at this point. But I digress. Thankfully, there’s a simple solution: Locopops. If you are local to the Triangle area (Chapel Hill, Durham, Raleigh), you must try these.

For everyone else, do a search on “paletas” and see what you can find at your local tienda. Locopops (and paletas in general) feature flavors way beyond red, purple, and orange. And I have a personal love for them, admittedly. When preggles with my youngest, I could only eat the strawberries and cream varietal for weeks. I purchased in bulk.

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Bacon Locopop Before

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Bacon Locopop Before

They come in two main varieties, cream-based or water-based. And they are full of delicious. Even my less than favorite flavors have been interesting, so dive in head-first. Here’s a list of the flavors we’ve tried this week: Mexican Chocolate, Coconut Orange, Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Bacon, White Chocolate Lemon Peppermint.

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Bacon Locopop After

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Bacon Locopop After

I’ll be honest, add traditional, commercial popsicles to the list of childhood favorites The Practical Cook doesn’t care for. Yes, I said it. I don’t like squeezing faux-flavored brightly colored frozen slush up a plastic sleeve, and I’ve never liked the flavors red or purple. Orange I can tolerate, but just barely. If you must paint me with the snob brush, do so, but I’ve always been this way. The Practical Cook’s Mom made popsicles from scratch, so blame her. (I like to make sure she’s still reading. I’ll let you know what she says.)

Raising a Toast to Mexican Chocolate and White Chocolate Lemon Peppermint Locopops

Raising a Toast to Mexican Chocolate and White Chocolate Lemon Peppermint Locopops

How do you feel about popsicles, paletas, and Locopops? Post a comment here. I have a feeling I’ll need some back-up on this one.

Send your Locopop pictures to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, More Snack Reviews.

5 Comments

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

5 responses to “Why I Love Locopops (And You Should Too): Review (with Video)

  1. Jenny

    My kid loves going to Locopops, but he doesn’t actually eat Locopops. Go figure. The other day I sat and had a blueberry lavender pop while he ran around the place asking everyone their name. “And your name? And yours?” It was like speed-dating.

  2. Blended Familia

    I love Locopops (a big “very berry” fan myself) but also encourage people to visit their local Mexican store, where you can get a number of more “regular” flavored paletas (strawberry, tamarind, vanilla, chocolate, pineapple, chile, coconut — both cream- and water-based varieties) at twice the size and half the price.

    • The Practical Cook

      A most excellent tip, especially for anyone outside of the Locopops zone (Central NC). I’m curious myself, just to compare/contrast the traditional paleta to the new-fangled. Blended Familia, I feel a joint field research trip coming on!

Leave a Reply

