Can this supper be saved? Yes, by Trader Joe’s

Gentle Readers, I hope it’s just us here in the confessional booth today. You see, I attempted to declare my independence from bottled salad dressing, but I fell in love. As food love goes, it often happens with a chance encounter at a friend’s house. Then, as I skipped gleefully and unattended down the aisles of Trader Joe’s the other morning after a successful camp drop-off, there it was.

Trader Joe's Romano Caesar Dressing, I Heart You

Trader Joe's Romano Caesar Dressing, I Heart You

Yes, I bought a bottle of my very own. (Along with many, many other things, having discarded the list; shopping for the pure joy of new food discovery, more on those items as I taste them.) The cashier commented on his love for the Romano Caesar Dressing as well. I’m starting to suspect this product has a cult following. And if you give The Practical Cook some dressing, she’s going to buy some Romaine to go with it. And make some croutons from scratch from the stale bread. (Heat some butter or olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat, add a  bit of minced garlic if you like, toss in thinly sliced baguette or cubes of stale bread, brown, sprinkle with parmesan cheese while still hot, eat. Preferably on a salad but straight up is good too.)

Butternut Squash Ravioli from Trader Joe's

Butternut Squash Ravioli from Trader Joe's

And then came the butternut squash ravioli. Bliss. I browned a large hunk of butter and some fresh sage, toss, toss, toss, a simple and satisfying dinner that everyone loved without any fuss in the kitchen. It was beautiful and delicious, the perfect end to a day of camp, swim lessons, and general chaos.

Simple Salad with Romano Caesar Dressing and Homemade Croutons

Simple Salad with Romano Caesar Dressing and Homemade Croutons

Trader Joe's Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter and Crispy Sage

Trader Joe's Butternut Squash Ravioli with Browned Butter and Crispy Sage

It was a nice break from tomato-based sauces, and the sweetness of the ravioli went so well with the sage. The Youngest Practical Cook ate all of her sage (and the croutons) and left some ravioli.

Thank you Trader Joe’s, for saving my supper. I was steps away from collapse, but the simple elegance of the meal kept me going. I shall persevere and cook another day. And I forgive me for buying another bottle of salad dressing, and you just might if you try this stuff.

Do you have a favorite bottled salad dressing? Have you tried the Romano Caesar? Comments and confessions are welcome in the comments section, just below.

Submit your questions and thoughts to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, a timely review of Locopops: Home of the Delicious Paleta.

Leave a comment

Filed under Can this supper be saved?, On the Table, Punt!

Leave a Reply

