Kitchen Tool Talk: Three (More) of My Favorite Things, Milk Bottle Edition

Sometimes, the old ways are the best ways. As the Practical Cook has said before, she is truly old in many ways, with Great Depression Era sensibilities in the kitchen. Several years back, upon returning to NC from a stint living in Brooklyn, I started drinking the local milk. It comes in glass bottles, from Maple View Farm, and it just tastes better.

So here are Three More of My Favorite Things in the kitchen:

Milk Bottles Old, New, and Buttermoo

Milk Bottles Old, New, and Buttermoo

1. Old-School Milk Bottle. I grew up on a farm, and before my time, the family farm was also a dairy operation. Though this milk bottle isn’t from the family farm, it is old, with the original paper lid, and sits with a few other prized kitchen possessions I use for decoration. It’s nice to feel connected to the past through something that was once so commonplace, and is now a nostalgia piece.

2. Maple View Skim. We drink a lot of this, with growing kids and my passion for cereal. Simply return the bottle to get your deposit back. Or “latte money” as I like to think of it. This milk is super-fresh, and I can taste just a hint of extra grassiness in the spring. Bonus, we can visit the cows.

3. Maple View Buttermoo. True confession, Gentle Readers, I’ve been calling milk “moo” on grocery lists for so long that it’s difficult for me to refer to it otherwise. It’s particularly nice with buttermoo, which is ideal to keep around for cornbread, bread, pancakes, biscuits, and random Indian dishes. Very versatile, but the viscosity makes it something I would never drink. I’m not that old-school.

When I’m not churning my own butter (with Maple View Heavy Cream), I buy their butter as well. Do you have a local dairy? What do you think? Can you taste the difference between glass and other containers? Weigh in with a comment, or Tweet!

Send blog ideas and questions to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Up next, Reader Questions Answered! Send in those questions, and you too can earn a nifty moniker.

2 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Tool Talk

2 responses to “Kitchen Tool Talk: Three (More) of My Favorite Things, Milk Bottle Edition

  1. Angela Antrim

    We have a Lindale Dairy glass bottle in our kitchen that we found in my grandmother’s basement. My dad talks about hopping on the milk truck in the summer because it was the coldest place in town because of the ice. The other day my mom found a 1942 receipt for Lindale Dairy in some old family pictures that she was cleaning out.

    • The Practical Cook

      That is so awesome! I love the story about your dad, especially having stepped outside in today’s heat. I could use a ride on some ice blocks myself!

Leave a Reply

