Weekly Menus: Week of 7/10/2011

Gentle Readers, it’s that time of the week again, time to plan the week ahead. Today is one of high-level logistics here, as the Practical Cook prepares once again to travel while attending to the nutritional needs of the family. Thank goodness for my secret weapon: The Practical Cook’s Mom.

Over the years, I’ve learned a few things about the power of grandparents.

1. Kids will eat anything for grandparents, and it will taste better, even if it’s Mushy Lima Overcooked Carrots Brussels Sprout Surprised. (For the record TPCM is NOT guilty of making such an atrocity.)

2. Grandparents will feed kids things they did not feed you as a kid. I won’t point fingers, but let’s just say The Practical Cook’s Dad and the Juniors have been known to sit down to ice cream at 9:30 am.

3. The Grandparent:Grandchild relationship is mysterious and sacred. Do not interfere. This one is key. I like the confessions that come from both parties, with the slightly raised eyebrows that just dare me to comment. It makes me miss my own Granny, featured on the header photo, who was known to slip us both an extra cookie on occasion.

And now, Weekly Menus, featuring TPCM for the first part of the week. (Thanks Mom, I couldn’t do this without you.)

Four-Square Shopping List:
I would scan this, but it breaks down to fruit, salad, milk, OJ, frozen pizza, and road food (walnuts, raisins, chocolate chips, my current trail mix obsession).

CSA from Brinkley Farms:

1 lb bag shelled butterbeans
1 lb yellow roma tomatoes
1 lb cherokee purple tomatoes
1 lb cucumbers

Sunday: Lemon Pepper Chicken, green beans, maybe broccoli, marinated veg., mashed potatoes, peach bake cobbler, rolls
Do you see where I get my Sunday Dinner obsession from? My meals have training wheels in comparison to TPCM’s!

Monday: Beans and Franklins, Corn on the Cob, Half the Garden
I’ve called baked beans with hot dogs this since childhood, and now the whole family uses the term.

Tuesday: Pizza Buffet!
Much like Santa cereal, this is again a grandparent stroke of genius. Envision 4 good eaters let loose on the local pizza buffet. I heard a lot about the concept of “dessert pizza.”

Wednesday: BLT’s
Local bacon, local tomatoes, lettuce, homemade bread. And yes, there will be mayo.

Thursday: Taco Night!
Because the exclamation point says it all.

Friday: Frozen Pizza and Salad
Punt!

Saturday: Refrigerator Round-Up
This is usually a dine-out night, but will be the first time I have to address the kitchen in earnest. I feel a picnic coming on.

Next stop, Las Vegas.

Did you eat with your grandparents? Share your stories of 9 am ice cream in the comments section or on Twitter.

Email your weekly menus, and leftovers, to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, this time I mean it, Mexican Squash Casserole, putting South in South of the Border.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

