In-N-Out Burger: More Adventures in Eating (with video)

Oh Gentle Readers, I can already feel the backlash. But the Practical Cook does not shy away from controversy. Hot on the heels of the post about picky vs. snobby eating comes the first less-than-positive review of a meal out. In the dark of night, I went to In-N-Out Burger. I didn’t have the revelatory experience I expected.

The Glowing Promise of Deliciousness

The Glowing Promise of Deliciousness

This was not a time to count calories, so I ordered a cheeseburger, fries, and a chocolate shake. I got the cheeseburger with onions, but didn’t order off the “secret” menu (aka, no double-double or animal style). Here’s the resulting order:

Fries, Chocolate Shake, and Cheeseburger from In-N-Out Burger

Fries, Chocolate Shake, and Cheeseburger from In-N-Out Burger

The food was fresh, and the fries were good when they were not, but not over the top great. The chocolate shake was tasty. The burger was average at best. Yes, I said it. It was thin, so much so that it was crunchy to nonexistent in some spots, and the onion overwhelmed it. The bun was fluffy and soft.

Video Review:

Full confession: The Practical Cook is not a huge fan or connoisseur of fast food. She is unwilling to spend her calories, cholesterol, or cash on the stuff when something more interesting is available. It really has been years since I’ve eaten anything under golden arches, so perhaps I just lack the skills to taste this properly. Let the record show I dearly love burgers and fries, just not these.

Early polling has drawn some fire on this subject, so let’s hear it from you Gentle Readers. How do you feel about In-N-Out, or fast food in general? Post a comment below, or join the Twitter debate.

Send your queries and food photos to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading the Practical Cook gospel. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, written on location, How to Survive Airport Food.

10 Comments

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

10 responses to “In-N-Out Burger: More Adventures in Eating (with video)

  1. you’re right: most chains do not offer interesting fare. but for burgers and fries, do try five guys. the fries, especially, are a cut above. (and who can argue with the free peanuts they offer?) also, i think it’s cool that they started out as a small, family-run place down the road from me.
    happy trails,
    tony
    arlington, va

    • The Practical Cook

      I am also a Five Guys fan. A friend shared this link: In-N-Out vs Five Guys vs Shake Shack

      Clearly, there is a need for more research!

    • Meredith

      In-and-Out Burgers rock! Growing up in SoCal where folks changed the In-and-Out Burger bumper stickers to In-and-Out _urge_, I am very familiar with their checkered establishment.

      Since I live in the South now where the choices do not include In-and-Out, I have to say that Five Guys feels like a high-priced copy cat. And now Cook Out wins my Southern choice for the best, quick burger in town.

      • The Practical Cook

        Okay, this is an excellent addition to the burger wars, and I must try Char-Grill postehaste. Are you a fan of any special combination at the In-N-Out, or did I just wait too long after ordering to eat it?

        Inquiring minds and all of that.

  2. You are the first person that hasn’t liked In-N-Out Burger that I have read online. I don’t have a preference because I have never had it. After reading this I will be aware when I do get the opportunity one day to experience it. I think the research part is the best since we are talking about food.

    • The Practical Cook

      I may have painted an In-N-Out target on myself for my stance, but hey, I’ve gotta call ’em like I see ’em. And yes, I’m enjoying the extremely non-scientific research aspect!

      Further anecdotal evidence indicates I’m not the only person who thinks the In-N-Out fries are good while hot, but that they don’t keep. The lesson there may be I should’ve eaten them all in the car!!

  3. Died I did. “…don’t know all the ins and outs of In-N-Out Burger.” Brilliant. Very good vlog review, of which I am a big fan.

  4. Aw thanks! I am slowly turning to the foody review vlog site but having a devil of a time editing to keep viewer attention. Rambling leaves itchy mouse buttons. I dig the way you keep it simple and captivate. I am learning a lot. Love the site and am adding you to the link bar if you don’t mind. šŸ™‚

  5. The Practical Cook

    Editing is the challenge, isn’t it? (With bacon grease and flour on the lens being the other obstacle. šŸ™‚ )

    Thanks again for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

