Kitchen Tool Talk: Three (More) of My Favorite Things (Coffee Edition)

Searching the kitchen after a long day’s work, looking for inspiration for the post on the trinity of kitchen tools, the Practical Cook saw her beloved French Press. Gentle readers, the Practical Cook is very fond of coffee. From the road-brew-fueled trip that carried her through a 21-hour drive to Texas to the lattes in a bowl at her favorite local spot, love may actually not be a strong enough term to describe the relationship.

So here are 3 of my favorite kitchen things:

Coffee Tools: Travel Mug, Brew-Through, French Press

Coffee Tools: Travel Mug, Brew-Through, French Press

1. Travel Mug: This is a relatively new acquisition. I am particular about my mugs. I wanted a stainless steel one, but not so industrial. I think this one has a rather feminine air about it, don’t you? (Hey, don’t judge, if you need a manly mug, go for it.) My brew (always black in there, no lattes will touch it) stays hot all day when meetings distract me.

2. Brew-Through: Thanks to Illegally Cooking for this one. Since I’m the only coffee drinker in the house, I don’t need or want vast quantities. I enjoy the speed of the process, and the simplicity.

3. French Press: Perfect for sharing with a friend, or doubling down, the French Press is there for me when I have more time to relax and enjoy the coffee-making process.

For the record, in my old age, and with my, ahem, high-energy temperament, I’m strictly decaf. Try not to gasp in horror. Years of experimentation have taught me that adding caffeine to a perky personality results in jitters and unruly behavior.

How do you make your coffee, and how do you like it served? Join me on Twitter for #coffeetalk.

Send photos, blog ideas, and accolades to practical cook at gmail dot com. Or post a comment here, or connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Like, like, like! Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up next Cereal, Part 2, This Time It’s Sugary.

2 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Tool Talk

2 responses to “Kitchen Tool Talk: Three (More) of My Favorite Things (Coffee Edition)

  1. I really enjoyed talking to you last night about plums and pipe tobacco and flavors! I am a complete convert to cold brewing – a little messy, but makes incomparable iced coffee:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/27/dining/27coff.html
    I make a half gallon at a time, adding some cinnamon to the coffee, bung in a tin of condensed milk, and then I have a pitcher of delicious Vietnamish coffee ready for the week!

    • The Practical Cook

      It was great to meet you as well! And thank you for the link to cold brewing (perfect for summer) and serving suggestions. I need to expand past my black decaf universe!

      Cardamom coffee and plum cake? I may have to head into the test kitchen.

Leave a Reply

