Apple Smiles or Playing With Food

Sometimes seeing is believing. The Practical Cook is all for extreme food presentation, but until I researched Apple Smiles, I was in Little League. I knew the basics: apples, peanut butter, marshmallows. But how to put it all together?

Here’s how:

Smile, Apple, Smile!

Smile, Apple, Smile!

Freaky, but delicious. Which led to the creation of the literary smile, the Wife of Bath:

Wife of Bath Apple Smile (the gat-toothed woman)

Wife of Bath Apple Smile (the gat-toothed woman)

I knew memorizing that prologue would serve one day. “Whan that April . . .”

These snacks are even more fun en masse:

When Food Smiles Back

When Food Smiles Back

Admittedly, it borders on creepy. Here’s what I learned:

  • Use the peanut butter sparingly. Otherwise you’ll end up with gingivitis.
  • The redder the apple, the more realistic the look.
  • If you’re using pre-sliced apples (guilty, I was in a hurry!), cut them in half again. The voluptuous lip may work for Revlon, but creates a sliding smile.
  • Have fun with the marshmallow “tooth” placement. You can see gap-tooth above, but there are several smiles missing teeth, just like the young patrons who were consuming them.
  • Marketing works. When delivering the smiles, I asked the recipient if they thought that one was a good tooth-brusher. Great ice-breaker for the under 7 set.
  • I’m ashamed to admit how tasty these were. I’m a fan of all three ingredients, but together, magic. I won’t tell if you make some for yourself.
Apple Smile Work in Progress

Apple Smile Work in Progress

I found it simplest to slice the apple slices in half (or make them fairly thin if you’re slicing your own), smear them lightly with peanut butter, then add the marshmallow teeth and assemble, as shown above. Push the marshmallow from skin side to interior or risk unsightly peanut butter gums.

This is a great option for Snack Week if allergies are not an issue. Much fruit was consumed based on presentation and taste.

Coming up next, spring is in the air somewhere, so it’s time to think about the Farmer’s Market. Are you a Farmer’s Market fan? Join us tomorrow and tell us what you shop for (or why you haven’t gone yet): practicalcook at gmail dot com

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

10 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, Recipes

10 responses to “Apple Smiles or Playing With Food

  1. Susan Terrell

    I hope both your mother and I had a hand in the literary formation. I LOVE the Wife of Bath Smile! Your Practical Cook site is fabulous. Great to be one of your groupies!

    • The Practical Cook

      Thank you!! So glad you like it. (And yes, I think I can still recite the prologue from memory.) Perhaps I need to take a swing at a complete literary-themed menu . . .

  2. These are so cute! I’m always trying to find fun ways of serving healthy snacks to my kids, and they’re getting tired of “ants on a log!” thanks for sharing!

    • The Practical Cook

      Thank you! Was just discussing the potential these have for Halloween if you add some jam. And I love the “critics” in your kitchen. Great blog concept!

  3. debi

    THE perfect preschool treat!!!! My students will absolutely love this. Now how can I make it go with the letter “Z” for z week? Hmmmm? Maybe I will just save it for “F” week and “Floss”, and use our dentist’s favorite quote, “Only floss the ones you want to keep. Off to work on that! So clever Amy.

    • The Practical Cook

      I love the idea for “F” for floss! Your comment is inspiring me to blog about letter-themed snacks. I’ve got a series of those up my sleeve as well. Because cream cheese and yogurt look like a blank canvas to me. 🙂 Perhaps some zebra-striped parfaits for z-week? Or you could leave the apple smiles wide open and say they are snoring.

      • debi

        ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

      • The Practical Cook

        Uh oh, did you wear yourself out with all of that apple smiling? I take it Z-day was a success!

  4. Pingback: Vampire Smiles Snack: Fangs A Lot | The Practical Cook

  5. Pingback: One Ingredient, Three Ways: For the Love of Marshmallows | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

