Weekly Menus: Picnic Edition (with Bonus Car Food Thoughts)

Gentle Readers, the weekly menus are going seriously al fresco this week. Is there a better place to eat than beside a waterfall? No, I do not think so. With this in mind, I did minimal shopping this week, focusing on the car food.

Apple Snack Tray with Peanut Butter and Maple Butter

Apple Snack Tray with Peanut Butter and Maple Butter

Years ago I concluded that the worst possible use of time for The Practical Cooks Junior was to sit quietly in a restaurant during the few precious minutes we stopped on road trips. Stops are a time to move around, yell, stretch, and generally get out all kinks. Public dining in our time is not the same as the stops of ye olde England when such carrying on was undoubtedly more commonplace.

So it’s more sensible to eat in the car for us. I could care less if food gets everywhere, but I don’t want to amp everyone up to the point that sitting still is not possible (thus a limiting of fast food options). Solution: peanut butter banana sandwiches. Elvis, the original road warrior, knew what time it was. I make stacks of them, cut them into quarters, roll.

The Key Ingredient, Labeled for Clarity (Not my label, by the way)

The Key Ingredient, Labeled for Clarity (Not my label, by the way)

I pack my travel trail mix, which does contain chocolate, and I do break any number of personal shopping rules and pack Poptarts and cereal bars for AM drive time. However, I also bring fresh fruit, nuts, and jerky. Car rides can be boring, and eating can be entertaining. So we snack, sing, chat, and sleep (well, me not so much that part).

Trail Mix Melted and Reformed = Trail Bark (Yum)

Trail Mix Melted and Reformed = Trail Bark (Yum)

I’m raising a couple of road warriors, and they are truly remarkable. They can pack their own bags without missing a beat, and take each new adventure in stride. How many people can say that about their summer vacation partners?

The Road Warriors

The Road Warriors

So this week’s menus will look somewhat like this:

Sunday: Vegetarian Dinner Out! (More on this soon!)

Monday: Meat, cheese, fruit, baby carrots, lake

Tuesday: Sandwiches and granola bars, waterfall

Wednesday: Chinese Take-Out (our recovery food)

Thursday: Business Dinner for me, Pasta and Veg for Jrs.

Friday: Cold Fried Chicken (because)

Cold Fried Chicken: My Summer Picnic Fuel

Cold Fried Chicken: My Summer Picnic Fuel (from Crook’s Corner)

Saturday: Picnic + Concert!
For this I will probably go tomato sandwich with a side of pesto pasta or something in that vein. Or perhaps more quinoa because I currently cannot consume enough of the stuff.

Send your junk food, food confessions, and wacky food challenges to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Wednesday: How to Throw an Impromptu Cookout and Why You Should.

1 Comment

Filed under Weekly Menus

One response to “Weekly Menus: Picnic Edition (with Bonus Car Food Thoughts)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menus on the Road: Week of 7/14/2013 | The Practical Cook

Leave a Reply

