Rainbow Jell-O Recipe Revealed!

Gentle Readers, rarely has one photo of a congealed dessert caused such a stir. This past Memorial Day weekend, my friend LiteracyCook presented one of the seven wonders of the Jell-O World.

This Rainbow Jell-O will be the star of any party.

This Rainbow Jell-O will be the star of any party.

Yes, the colors are in order. And if one likes Jell-O, you are in for a treat. Because I am on record as having some texture issues, I never make Jell-O, so this was a double-treat for TPC’s Jr. Now, before The Practical Cook’s Mom has a chance to bemoan the fact that she raised two kids who didn’t like Kool-Aid or Jell-O, I shall share this recipe.

The Rainbow Jell-O Turned over, but if you squint, it might look like a double rainbow.

The Rainbow Jell-O Turned over, but if you squint, it might look like a double rainbow.

Rainbow Jell-O Recipe Revealed!
From guest blogger LiteracyCook: The biggest tip, start early!
I was able to do two colors a night. I got the recipe from a community cookbook my mother-in-law gave me years ago. They suggest using sour cream or yogurt and a 9 by 12 pan.  I’ve also done it with a jello mold (only three colors of jello) but it needs to harden much longer. This was my first attempt with the 12 layers.

Six boxes of different colored Jell-O (I assume you can Roy G. Biv this one, I believe indigo was sent the way of Pluto for this dish)
Carton of vanilla yogurt

1. Spray 9 x 13 dish with cooking spray.

2. Dissolve one jello packet in 1 cup boiling water.

3. Mix 1/3 cup jello-water with 1/3 cup vanilla yogurt (I used a little one than a third cup of each – the thirds weren’t quite enough to cover the pan)

4. Pour yogurt mixture into prepared dish. Refrigerate about an hour.

5. Pour rest of jello-water over hardened yogurt mixture. Refrigerate.

6. Repeat!

I don’t think this was beginner’s luck! Wow, it looked amazing, seriously amazing in person. Very much worth it if you want the shock and awe dessert of any picnic or potluck where the younger set is very much in attendance.

Even with this amazing spread, Rainbow Jell-O reigned supreme in shock and awe value.

Even with this amazing spread, Rainbow Jell-O reigned supreme in shock and awe value.

Are you a fan of Jell-O? Have you ever tasted the rainbow? Post your comments below, or Tweet my way. It won’t hurt, I promise.

Queries, challenges, and restaurant recommendations can be emailed to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Sunday, it’s time for Weekly Menus! There will be pork chops.

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Snacks

6 responses to “Rainbow Jell-O Recipe Revealed!

  1. Jenny

    I haven’t made this since adulthood, but when I was growing up I used to help my mom make it for holidays. We called it ribbon jello, and it was such a major pain in the butt I have never made it in my own kitchen. This is not a recipe for the impatient :-)

    • The Practical Cook

      An excellent caveat! This is a project that takes some time, and a nice balance countertop to prevent a wave effect. :)

  2. Jenny

    I will add that if you put a layer on too soon and it wrecks the layer below, you can always cover it up with the next one, so it is forgiving. And always really fun to eat. I would always separate it with my fork :-)

    • The Practical Cook

      Thank you for the tip! I can imagine there are two schools of thought, eating a slice of all the strata vs layer by layer!!

      • Carolyn

        Exactly – peeling the layers slows down gobbling children…

      • The Practical Cook

        Since I was the kid who had to have one of each Froot Loop colors in each bite, I can imagine myself having a Frances badger moment with Rainbow Jell-O, trying to make it come out even!

Leave a Reply

