Weekly Menus, Memorial Day Weekend Edition

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook wishes you a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. Here’s hoping you’re getting to take some time off and be outside somewhere. Preferably with watermelon. Without it, I don’t think one can fully celebrate. But I am deeply Southern that way.

Watermelon is key to celebrating Memorial Day. As important as the white shoes rule.

Watermelon is key to celebrating Memorial Day. As important as the white shoes rule.

I digress, as usual. This week, I’m actually in my own kitchen, cooking. Wow, what a concept! However, I have several upcoming guest blog posts. I have been out eating other people’s food, and talking to anyone and everyone about food. I know, it’s not an easy task, but someone must do it. I am here for you.

Rainbow Jell-O in order! Not mine, but I plan to tell you all about it.

Rainbow Jell-O in order! Not mine, but I plan to tell you all about it.

Worry not, at least one guest post will be dedicated to bacon. Bacon on bacon. I shall say no more for now, but I hope that guest poster is reading this and making a bacon lattice as we speak.

On to the Weekly Menus for this week:

Weekly Menus: 5/27/2012

Weekly Menus: 5/27/2012

And the Four-Square Grocery List:

The Four-Square Grocery List: 5/27/2012

The Four-Square Grocery List: 5/27/2012

My CSA from Brinkley Farms:

1 dozen eggs
1 pk pork chops
1 bundle rainbow carrots
1 lb cucumbers
1 qt. yukon gold potatoes
2 lbs zucchini

Which all translates into:

Sunday: Chicken, veggie, TJ’s brown rice medley, and fruit
We’re having guests, I’m craving comfort food, and half the people present could eat their weight in fruit. Thus the detailed listing.

Monday: Dine Out!
We’re eating out a couple of times in order to cover requests made by each of the Juniors. This is what compromise looks like in a foodie family.

Chinese Tapas, the phrase coined by the Eldest as she calmly ordered half the appetizers.

Chinese Tapas, the phrase coined by the Eldest as she calmly ordered half the appetizers.

Tuesday: Leftovers!
Because I will die under the weight of them if I don’t serve them regularly.

Wednesday: Ham and Cheese Sammies with Sweet Potato Chips
This is a recipe TPC’s Mom made growing up, and she fed it to my kids last week. Now they’re hooked, and we’re blogging it.

Thursday: Beans and Rice, Mexican Style
I’m overrun with tortillas, and I am pro any reason to eat avocado.

Friday: Beef and Bok Choy
I just like the sounds of it. This will be experimental in an attempt to convince the Jrs to eat both.

Saturday: Dine Out!
Though I may advocate for staying home and eating leftovers, or a salad. Road food is killing me softly.

Send kitchen challenges, kind words, and charming anecdotes to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Coming up Wednesday, Peach Blueberry Crisp Bars Recipe. It’s like a crisp, in bar form.

2 Comments

Filed under Weekly Menus

2 responses to “Weekly Menus, Memorial Day Weekend Edition

  1. Carolyn

    My kids are slurping up jello as I read this. You can peel the layers off if you are inclined to eat it with your fingers…

Leave a Reply

