Weekly Menus: Week of 4/1/2012

Gentle Readers, The Practical Cook is currently in a state of shock that it is now really, really time to complete her taxes. Where has the time flown? Another favorite eating holiday is just around the corner (hello Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs, I love your seasonality), and spring carrots are coming soon. In preparation for my re-dedication to the art of eating local and my CSA, I continue to work through my pantry stores.

We are fully prepared for Laura Ingalls Wilder to show up for dinner.

We are fully prepared for Laura Ingalls Wilder to show up for dinner.

Seriously, it’s like Little House up in this joint, you’ll note I’ve just been buying fresh goods for weeks now. There was a significant inventory issue, and I will confess that there has been some wonderful field research to be done. Look for some upcoming reviews.

Very respectable fried pickles to be found at Carolina Ale House.

Very respectable fried pickles to be found at Carolina Ale House.

But I digress, here’s what we’re eating this week. It’s Spring Break, so there will be a lot of lunching happening as well. The problem with raising very polite and thoughtful eaters? They’ll tell you clearly and firmly what they do and don’t like. Le sigh. Undone by my own teachable moments.

Pork Belly with Tamarind. Like Bacon, only better. Yeah, I said it.

Pork Belly with Tamarind. Like Bacon, only better. Yeah, I said it.

Weekly Menus for this week:

Weekly Menus: 4/1/2012

Weekly Menus: 4/1/2012

Four-Square Grocery List:

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 4/1/2012

Four-Square Grocery Shopping List: 4/1/2012

Which translates to:

Sunday: Veggie Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries
I have a lot of sweet potatoes, as in many pounds. I made the last batch too spicy, as sweetly told to me by The Youngest Practical Cook Junior. Leftover buns from last week’s burgers, new swing at the fries, done.

Monday: Breakfast for Dinner OR Beans and Rice
Depends on time and the potential guests. I plan to actually have the beans in the house to cook this time. Bonus.

Tuesday: Dine Out!
The Juniors and I are going to be rolling on some research. I hope this will be a joint review, we shall see.

Wednesday: Sausage, greens, pierogies
One day I hope to make my own pierogies, or source them locally in a way that hearkens back to my time in NYC. Any and all suggestions welcome here. Until then, freezer case for all of this.

Thursday: Tuna Salad
Because I need to eat more fish. And because I want to perfect tuna salad, which I’m quite fond of. I just don’t love cat food, if you know what I mean.

Friday: Leftover Surprise/Risotto
Depends on energy level and circumstance. I’m craving mushroom/asparagus risotto, and I just made stock.

Saturday: Dine Out!
This could potentially be a remote location opportunity. I have some BBQ scouting to do to quiet a certain cantankerous critic. You know who you are.

Send your bon bons, actual questions, and video challenges to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

On Wednesday, Easter Brunch/Lunch Ideas!

2 Comments

Filed under Fried, Weekly Menus

2 responses to “Weekly Menus: Week of 4/1/2012

  1. Looks like a good week. Sausage and greens are what keep me from being a vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

