Turkey Talk: Restaurant Review of Bosphorus in Cary, NC (with video)

Gentle Readers, when fellow adventurous eaters say “get in the back of the car, we’re leaving,” The Practical Cook hops in without question. Though I would like to tell you this was the getaway vehicle (a la Jack Bauer):

This was not the getaway car, though it should have been.

This was not the getaway car, though it should have been.

It was not. However, the destination, Bosphorus in Cary, NC, is worth the trip, no matter your means of transport. So delicious, I had a moment at the table in regards to the eggplant. Apologies to dining companions Buttercup and Waldorf for bearing witness, but as the tape indicates, I’m lucky I got any food at all. Let’s investigate, shall we?

And here’s what we ordered, in translation:

The Bread: It just came to the table, unbidden, but you do want to try some with the mildly spicy dipping oil. Take that Dr. Atkins.

Turkish bread with peppery oil dip. Do not cut carbs on this one.

Turkish bread with peppery oil dip. Do not cut carbs on this one.

Bosphorus Meze Platter: The Sampler Platter, not to be missed. Everything was good, the  baba ghanoush was not to be missed. I do heart eggplant, but this was perfectly balanced, smoky without being bitter or overly chunky.

The Meze Platter at Bosphorus

The Meze Platter at Bosphorus

Cigar Bourek (Sigara Boregi): These are the taquitos or mozzarella sticks of Turkey, apparently. Deep-fried phyllo dough stuffed with feta, served with marinara. I liked these, but wanted a slightly more pronounced feta taste. The Juniors will love them, I might save my fried quota for the next item.

Turkish Deep Fried! Because that is what I do. (Cigar Bourek, phyllo wrapped feta.)

Turkish Deep Fried! Because that is what I do. (Cigar Bourek, phyllo wrapped feta.)

Fried Eggplant & Green Pepper (Patlican Kizartmasi): And then I had a moment at the table. This was the first dish I tried, ordered because of my love of the eggplant, and I was not disappointed. It was warm and crispy, yet smooth with the yogurt. It was a veritable vegetarian party in my mouth. Hunt this dish down and eat it. Try to avoid sharing.

Turkish Fried Eggplant at Bosphorus: I must have dimmed the lights for this photo so I could be alone with it.

Turkish Fried Eggplant at Bosphorus: I must have dimmed the lights for this photo so I could be alone with it.

Lahmacun: Ground beef with spices atop a thin dough. This isn’t crisp like a pizza, more like a really good tortilla or roti. And these things rock. I almost didn’t get to eat one, because I was too busy communing with the eggplant/photographing for this review, that’s how good they are.

Lahmacun (or Turkish Beef Pizza) at Bosphorus in Cary, NC

Lahmacun (or Turkish Beef Pizza) at Bosphorus in Cary, NC

Ali Nazik: Beef and lamb kofta-style kebab over a bread salad. OMG. I would order this for the bread salad alone, drenched in tomato sauce on one side, and yogurt on the other. With my texture issues, this isn’t one I would’ve ordered on my own, but was one of my favorite items. Take the leap of faith, order this, then tell me what you think.

Ali Nazik with Bread Salad: Try this!

Ali Nazik with Bread Salad: Try this! It tastes like delicious.

Bosphorus is family-friendly, delicious, and not hard to find, even by Cary standards (I find the place unnavigable, forgive me). The wait staff was amazing, the food arrived almost before we ordered it, and I left just wanting to eat more. Put it on your short list to try. Thank me later by sending me a picture of your dinner.

Have you tried Turkish food? Post your thoughts in the comments section, or Tweet at me. I’m standing by, waiting for your call.

Got ideas for the blog? Want to challenge The Practical Cook? Email practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today to stay current on all of The Practical Cook news!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, Hoppin’ John, Simplified.

Leave a comment

Filed under Restaurant Reviews

Leave a Reply

