My New Favorite Peanut Butter: Trader Joe’s Valencia Creamy

Gentle Readers, the news about peanut butter prices rising has The Practical Cook in a frenzy. Peanut butter is a staple in sandwiches (and not just with J, as evidenced yesterday), and a near-daily snack when paired with apples, not to mention the waffle topping of choice. In her salad days, The Practical Cook was choosier, and chose Jif. Then came the cholesterol results.

Look at the sheen on that peanut butter! (I think we're alone now . . .)

Look at the sheen on that peanut butter! (I think we're alone now . . .)

You see, I do still love Jif for some things (such as the baking of peanut butter cookies), but for daily consumption and because I can’t eat a ton of it, I want my peanut butter to wow me. This was 365 Crunchy Salted from Whole Foods until recently, then Trader Joe’s won my allegiance.

Trader Joe's Valencia Creamy Salted Peanut Butter with Sea Salt

Trader Joe's Valencia Creamy Salted Peanut Butter with Sea Salt

Now, Trader Joe’s has my heart. I know, I should completely stop going in there. Every week, it’s something new. But time is special. The Trader Joe’s Valencia Creamy Peanut Butter with Sea Salt is magic, unicorns, sunshine, and happiness, all rolled into one. It’s a natural peanut butter that doesn’t separate so much that it’s annoying to mix, and the flavor is a mouth party.

Apple Peanut Butter Flower with Hidden Bears

Apple Peanut Butter Flower with Hidden Bears

The Practical Cooks Junior rolled their eyes at my request to taste test this new peanut butter, and then proceeded to eat double their usual waffle allotment and most of my Honeycrisp apple with the Valencia Creamy as a dip. They then requested another, chomping crisp apples noisily at me while I watched what was to be my snack disappear.

It was a dollar more than the standard Trader Joe’s peanut butter, but still quite affordable. Buy it for the awesome elephant (between Like Water for Elephants and Hadoop, my worlds are replete with pachyderms), eat it because it’s delicious. A little dab will do you.

How do you like to eat your peanut butter? Post a comment below, or Tweet #peanutbutter at me.

Send your queries, compliments, and double dog kitchen dares to practical cook at gmail dot com. Connect on Facebook: The Practical Cook Blog. (Thanks in advance for spreading The Practical Cook Blog word. Press “like” on Facebook today!)

Follow practicalcook on Twitter

Tomorrow, The Practical Cook’s First Recipe.

4 Comments

Filed under Kitchen Philosophy, On the Table, Snacks

4 responses to “My New Favorite Peanut Butter: Trader Joe’s Valencia Creamy

  1. I thought peanut butter was actually beneficial for cholesterol. I had read that it could increase one’s HDL (“good” cholesterol), especially the natural types with no hydrogenated oil. I have been a big fan of the other TJ’s peanut butters, but have not tried this one yet. Will get a jar on my next trip!

    • The Practical Cook

      I don’t think the quantity of peanut butter I was consuming in my Jif days (think “feedbag”) plus the hydrogenation was a winning combo for me. Love hearing that studies are saying the natural stuff is actually good for you, because I’m not giving it up. Much like the French, I’m learning that eating the most delicious kind = actually eating a reasonable amount.

  2. Pingback: Product Review: Three New Chocolate Covered Delicacies from Trader Joe’s | The Practical Cook

  3. Val

    I saw your post, and had to try Trader Joe’s Valencia Peanut Butter. My husband’s sticking with his Jif, but I was not disappointed at all. It’s creamy, delicious, and not too salty. I’m a huge fan of Trader Joe’s, and can’t imagine living too far from one. I’m waiting — with great anticipation — for Wegmans to open near me.

Leave a Reply

